NEWS

So Run Faster is finally out...

• 103 Replies

ZeldaBravo

• Ace Runner
« on: <12-19-14/1225:02> »
...and it brings new stuff to the table! Direct spells are back in business with the new Feel My Hatred quality, changelings, metasapients, infected and metavariant characters have rules AT LAST. And we also got ourselves some new character generation options.
So the question is: which character generation option do you like the most and why? I don't want this topic to become a battleground between them, I just want to hear the opinions of fellow players and game masters, pros and cons. I'm still fairly new with Shadowrun in general (a very limited expirience in 4EAE, ongoing game in 5E, ongoing GMing a 5E game) and so I'm curious about this whole new (for me) options that the new book brought.
Please, share your thoughts.
*I have problems with clarifying my point in English, so sometimes I might sound stupid or rude.*

Whiskeyjack

• Prime Runner
« Reply #1 on: <12-19-14/1231:22> »
I dunno about +2 DV for +2 Drain making direct spells "back in business."  :P

If you want to build for it sure, but indirects are still top dog in combat spells.
Playability > verisimilitude.

ZeldaBravo

• Ace Runner
« Reply #2 on: <12-19-14/1241:41> »
Well, at least the direct spells now hurt. That quality makes them cost about the same as AoE spells drainwise but you don't always want to cast a lighting ball in any given room. I guess...
*I have problems with clarifying my point in English, so sometimes I might sound stupid or rude.*

Kincaid

• Freelancer
  • Prime Runner
« Reply #3 on: <12-19-14/1435:12> »
I love the modular character building system.  I'm wildly Type-A when it comes to chargen, so it's possible that I'll never even use it for a character of my own, but it's absolute gold for GMs when new-ish players have great concepts but are unsure as to how to translate them to game mechanics.
Killing so many sacred cows, I'm banned from India.

Csjarrat

• Prime Runner