NEWS

Problems With Magical Balance

• 21 Replies

Kulthozuer

• Newb
« on: <07-30-11/2329:38> »
Ok so I am fairly new to SR as in I have only been playing since 4th edition and only have the core book, street magic and arsenal. I have read them most all the way through and certain sections multiple times, so I know the rules fairly well. I have DM'ed alot before Shadowrun and I'd like to say I know how to DM. My problem is I have a friend who is also an experianced DM and very experianced in RPG's in general (They are kinda his thing). Now he usually well get pretty testy if I tell him he cant do something or he gets "punishment" for doing things in game and as a DM I do not like to punish character rather I talk to them out of game to explain to them what they are doing is unreasonable or wrong, but with him he doesn't really listen and gets angry. Recently we started a campaign where he plays a magician following the Black Magic tradition from street magic. His character follows all the rules but the problem is he learned all combat and manipulation spells at character creation and basicly geared his character towards being a very powerful magician, he had a good backstory and I worked with him on having some different spells that were fair and fit his backstory but he tends to abuse his spells by using control thoughts or control actions alot. I have stopped him by throwing security guards and other characters with high willpower at him that he cant control but he usually complains. I was just wondering if anyone had any advice or optional rules they use to prohibit the use of powerful magic like this alot, I don't wanna just have him arrested because he uses it obviously in public situations because he will complain and I want him to have fun, I have actually had to have him arrested for using control thoughts in a populated mall at a force of 5, which he complained about. Yeah hes pretty unreasonabe with what he does and I've talked to him about it I just woul