NEWS

getting Players switched over

• 11 Replies

Halen524

• Newb
« on: <04-30-11/0100:32> »
So ive got a group that I've been playing Dungeons with for around 7 years(the usuals at least) with, a few years back we started talkin about playin SR and finally got it together, but the problem I seem to be having trouble getting the players switched to the shadowrun style. its not so much the mechanics or the setting they can't grab its more the role-playing end, i can't seem to get them to understand the the method of running from finding info on a target to carrying out a mission, i find myself basically telling them exactly what to do, and when I try to get them to do what they want they complain about how im not telling them what to do lol, so I was  wondering if anyone had any tips as to how to get them into the swing of things.

CanRay

• Freelancer
  • Mr. Johnson
  • Spouter of Random Words
« Reply #1 on: <04-30-11/0128:12> »
Max Headroom and Film Noir.  Get a bunch of them, and have the group watch them.  Tell them that's how it's done.

Shaft (The original) and Mike Hammer TV Episodes also work.
Si vis pacem, para bellum

#ThisTaserGoesTo11

Sid

• Chummer
« Reply #2 on: <04-30-11/0156:01> »
Burn Notice and Leverage are more recent examples. (though I couldn't sit through two episodes of Leverage)

Strange Days, Virtuousity, Johnny Mnemonic, Freejack, Videodrome, Gattaca, Splice, Escape from LA/NY, Inception ... they all take a slice, too.
« Last Edit: <04-30-11/0158:39> by Sid »

Fortinbras

• Chummer
« Reply #3 on: <04-30-11/0701:30> »