NEWS

What was VITAS?

• 61 Replies

swliner

• Newb
« on: <04-21-11/1907:39> »
What exactly was the VITAS plague?  I'm guessing by the name that it sent you into Anaphylactic shock and killed you, but what were the actual symptoms?  How was it spread? Why isn't it around anymore? I'm kinda new to the setting, so I wouldn't even know where to start looking to answer these kinds of questions.  Thanks.

bigity

• Omae
« Reply #1 on: <04-21-11/2244:02> »
I know at least one book in the older editions listed it with the diseases/poisons, but I don't recall much more information than like a paragraph.

ChaoticWeevil

• Newb
« Reply #2 on: <04-21-11/2333:03> »
VITAS stands for Virally Induced Toxic Allergy Syndrome. It killed billions of people (a nice way to handle overpopulation questions if you ask me) in two outbreaks in 2010 and again in 2022.

Here is a fact grab:The first cases of VITAS were reported in India in 2010 and by the end of the year the disease had killed a quarter of the world's population. VITAS brought with it corresponding levels of panic and desperation, with healthy people resorting to drastic means to stay that way; entire sections of Mexico City were burned as a "safety precaution," in one of the most extreme cases.

The second outbreak in 2022 killed another ten percent of the population. The disease temporarily halted race riots and other violence brought about by conflicts among humans and metahumans.

A para-VITAS outbreak in 2046, believed to be the work of unidentified eco-terrorists, killed 120,000 in Tynesprawl, England.

CanRay

• Freelancer
  • Mr. Johnson
  • Spouter of Random Words
« Reply #3 on: <04-22-11/0009:10> »
VITAS-III is the boogeyman that the media/corps pull out whenever they need to hide something.

IIRC, they used a version of that for Chicago.  Of course, look how that turned out.
Si vis pacem, para bellum

#ThisTaserGoesTo11

Medicineman

• Ace Runner
« Reply #4 on: <04-22-11/0217:45> »