NEWS

Telescoping Limbs(5e)

• 7 Replies

Chalkarts

• Omae
  • I'm a Street Painter in South Georgia.
« on: <03-04-20/1540:32> »
2 questions,
Are the limbs just straight line extensions like a hand on a stick, or are they flexible and able to go around obstacles to get a handhold?
&
Can you make a melee attack with a telescoping limb, essentially punching or stabbing someone at range?

I've been playing around with this,
I made a character and would like your professional opinion.
https://drive.google.com/drive/folders/1si4bKm0c58Jt-YmzK_n244RtZUIX0PII
« Last Edit: <03-04-20/1604:51> by Chalkarts »
I paint the pavement.  It's what I do.  Check it out on Instagram, @Chalkarts

Stainless Steel Devil Rat

• Errata Coordinator
  • Prime Runner
« Reply #1 on: <03-04-20/1707:14> »
My opinion is no.  They just extend in a rigid, straight way.

OTOH, I envision that a Grappling Hand CAN make an unarmed attack to grab onto something at range, so that you can then go all "GET OVER HERE".
RPG mechanics exist to give structure and consistency to the game world, true, but at the end of the day, you’re fighting dragons with algebra and random number generators.

Reaver

• Prime Runner
  • 60% alcohol 40% asshole...
« Reply #2 on: <03-04-20/1712:20> »
2 questions,
Are the limbs just straight line extensions like a hand on a stick, or are they flexible and able to go around obstacles to get a handhold?
&
Can you make a melee attack with a telescoping limb, essentially punching or stabbing someone at range?

I've been playing around with this,
I made a character and would like your professional opinion.
https://drive.google.com/drive/folders/1si4bKm0c58Jt-YmzK_n244RtZUIX0PII

Its going to be in a straight line, just like your limb. This is not "Go-go Gadget"  :P

You have actual, practical Physics at work here, remember :P

For your consideration:

https://www.jms.co.uk/hire/rough-terrain-boom-lifts/jlg-800aj-diesel-boom-lift/