NEWS

[SR3] Wireless Matrix Help

• 7 Replies

Clyax113_S._Xaces

• Newb
  • I love the crime more than the sci-fi.
« on: <02-12-20/1423:55> »
Hello,
I am a noob coming from Shadowrun 5th Edition playing a 3rd Edition game.  I am unable to connect directly to the LAN that's not connected to the main Matrix lines, so that's completely out of the question.  What are the rules for wireless Matrix access?  Thus far I have an understanding of how SATCOM works, but I'm trying to see if I can find any way to get things to work through WAVECOM or BEAMCOM.  I'm attempting to see if I can have someone attach a device to a LAN that's closed to outside Matrix access so that I can wirelessly connect from an RTG to a transceiver connected to the RTG line then wirelessly to another transceiver connected to a closed LAN and into the closed LAN.  How can I essentially "hop the wire" so to speak?  Thanks.
I demand AT LEAST one explosion a month.

Stainless Steel Devil Rat

• Errata Coordinator
  • Prime Runner
« Reply #1 on: <02-12-20/1429:00> »
IIRC 3rd edition is set prior to Crash 2.0 and there is no wireless matrix.
RPG mechanics exist to give structure and consistency to the game world, true, but at the end of the day, you’re fighting dragons with algebra and random number generators.

Banshee

• Catalyst Demo Team
  • Ace Runner
« Reply #2 on: <02-12-20/1430:03> »
Hello,