NEWS

advice for running a new game in 2070

• 8 Replies

GeekSquad

• Newb
« on: <07-08-15/1530:05> »
Hoi Chummers.

New to Shadowrun, always loved the game but can't find a group to play in. I finally decided to bite the bullet and just start GMing a group to get my fix.

I'm a super noob,  never even played the game before, running 5ed with the terrible pregen sample characters and a play group of 7 (a lot I know)

This topic is mainly to do with the setting. I've decided on Seattle in 2070 which is a bit earlier than the 5ed present day. I'm wondering, other than the stuff listed in the shadowrun time line, what other aspects of Shadowrun should I keep in mind/run differently considering the 5 year difference. Can I still use GOD? Should people be more wary or Technomancers? Are there any major incidents which haven't taken place? How should I handle major time line incidents? If I put my runners in an important mission in the shadowrun time line and they change shit how do I deal with the Fallout?  (What if, for instance, my runners want to kill Lowfyr or something ridiculous )

I'll probably have more questions later but that's the big one.

Sterling

• Omae
  • Dragged in by the credstick
« Reply #1 on: <07-08-15/1550:45> »
For the timeline your best resource is going to be a book called "The Sixth World Almanac".  It gives you a full game history from the late 90's to 2072.

Technomancers are only really discovered in 2069 and are pretty scary.  GOD isn't brought in until late 2074.

If your runners do try and take down Lofwyr, they're going to need new characters.

The moment you begin a campaign you are deviating from canon, but that's what is so great about the game.  Let the major events happen, because runners can't really affect them directly, but keep them in the background.

The game revolves around your players.  The world doesn't.

Most of all relax and have fun.