NEWS

[SR5] Negative Qualities at Character Creation

• 24 Replies

Drakeotic

• Newb
« on: <10-22-13/1638:56> »
Hello, I am new to Shadowrun and making my first character. I know it says you can spend up to 25 Karma for good qualities and negative ones as well but I don't see a cost for negative ones. Do I count the bonus karma as its cost? I have always enjoyed adding negative features to my characters, it brings a little more life to them. Thank you in advance.

Ryo

• Ace Runner
« Reply #1 on: <10-22-13/1703:47> »
The cost of a negative quality is the negative effect it gives you. In exchange, you get bonus karma. So you start with 25 karma, and you can take up to 25 karma worth of negative qualities, giving you a total of 50 to spend.

Drakeotic

• Newb
« Reply #2 on: <10-22-13/1727:29> »
Thank you very much! Now I can continue with my character. I like that it will give you extra Karma to spend later on. Thanks again.

Michael Chandra

• Catalyst Demo Team
  • Prime Runner
  • Question-slicing ninja
« Reply #3 on: <10-22-13/1753:07> »
By the way, you can ask your GM for permission to take a combination of qualities that are somewhat more than -25, getting only 25 karma for it.
How am I not part of the forum?? O_O I am both active and angry!

Agonar

• Omae
« Reply #4 on: <10-23-13/0027:36> »
By the way, you can ask your GM for permission to take a combination of qualities that are somewhat more than -25, getting only 25 karma for it.

I usually allow my players to take as many negative Qualities as they want to RP their character with, but they still only gain 25 bonus Karma, max.  Several of my players took 30+ points worth of negs anyway, just for extra flavor.
GM of the Relative Dimension, Actual Play Podcast
www.relativedimension.com

Michael Chandra

• Catalyst Demo Team
  • Prime Runner
  • Question-slicing ninja
« Reply #5 on: <10-23-13/0448:57> »