NEWS

Interpretation Question

• 79 Replies

Nomad Zophiel

• Omae
  • Zophiel by name. Nomad by profession.
« Reply #45 on: <11-02-10/1954:54> »
Oh, sure. I'm looking at doing that with my Social Adept. For 30 Karma and a 80,000 nuyen I can stuff Tailored Pheromones 3, Extended Voice Range (or whatever the one is that gives +1 to social rolls when speaking) and Mnemonic Enhancement 3 in him without sacrificing my 5 Power Points worth of starting Adept goodness. Should I be able to take that sixth power point for 10-13 karma (Initiation)? I'd say no.

Why Mnemonic enhancer, you may ask. Well, he's got Linguistics (Adept Power), Linguistics (Quality), Multitasking and Sustenance. So on a given day of downtime he can roll to learn several languages, 2 per day per multi-tasking thread just by keeping foreign language trids running on his commlink during all waking hours. That's anywhere from 4 to 10 per day depending on the GM's call. Each one is level 1, plus 2 for Linguistics (Quality) +3 for Mnemonic Enhancer. Net result: near fluency in any language with an entertainment industry at no Karma cost. . .except the 30 Karma to raise magic then sacrifice it on the altar of progress.

Bradd

• Omae
« Reply #46 on: <11-02-10/2005:53> »
Trouble is, adept metamagic mostly sucks, and there isn't much of it. If you don't allow the power points, they all max out metamagic after just a few initiation grades.

And I don't think (relatively) cheap power points are such a big deal. In the time it takes to earn an initiate grade or two, a samurai can easily afford something much better than you can get with 1-2 power points (like muscle toner 4). Eventually the 'ware gets a lot more expensive, but eventually the adept needs to start buying up magic instead of grades. It should work out.

Critias

• Freelancer
  • Prime Runner
  • Company Elf
« Reply #47 on: <11-02-10/2334:11> »
Trouble is, adept metamagic mostly sucks, and there isn't much of it.