NEWS

[Resource] ArcGIS Shapefiles and Maps

• 9 Replies

Tzeentch

• Newb
« on: <07-03-13/2333:42> »
I've begun digitizing all of the Shadowrun borders in ArcGIS and also generating a few maps (more to come, priority is finishing the digitization). You can get the latest news at the Dumpshock thread (http://forums.dumpshock.com/index.php?showtopic=39076) and access the country shapefile and PDF maps I've created so far at https://www.dropbox.com/sh/8m3vhgcrk9rmebs/q5RxqpYtFC

I don't do maps on demand, but I'll monitor this and the Dumpshock thread if you have any requests. I'm NOT a cartographer (my day job is spatial analysis) so don't expect anything mega fancy.

Lysanderz

• Omae
« Reply #1 on: <07-04-13/0330:52> »
....... what is this ArcGIS and how do I get one to fuck around with?

Tzeentch

• Newb
« Reply #2 on: <07-04-13/0424:46> »
ArcGIS is a suite of GIS tools. The actual shapefile format can be read by a number of tools.

It's much more versatile and powerful than KML files (which I find to be practically useless) and will end up being a much higher quality set of data. For those, see http://forums.shadowrun4.com/index.php?topic=5542.0

Automaton

• Chummer
« Reply #3 on: <07-06-13/0718:04> »
Okay, pretent that I don't have a clue what you're talking about and try to explain it to a 10 year old. :)

Starting with what are GIS tools. Because that has as much meaning to me as ArcGIS.

What is it that the tool does, and what is it that your are doing with it?

Tzeentch

• Newb
« Reply #4 on: <07-06-13/1553:27> »