NEWS

Quick question

  • 10 Replies
  • 2767 Views

Seamus Harper

  • *
  • Newb
  • *
  • Posts: 23
« on: (04:33:45/04-11-11) »
I am building a character for Missions and I thought I'd stop by to say hello and ask a question.  In the FAQ thingy it says Pixies are allowed, and it says changelings are allowed, so does that then mean changeling pixies are allowed?  Companion says they are possible and would be allowed under normal circumstances unless the GM disapproves, but I'm not sure how Missions treats "subject to GM approval" situations (I'm assuming a blanket yea or nay but, if that is the case, can't find which).

Many thanks!


wylie

  • *
  • Catalyst Demo Team
  • Omae
  • ***
  • Posts: 299
« Reply #1 on: (10:27:14/04-11-11) »
after rereading the Season 4 FAQ,  I don't see any reason to say no.
Pixies are allowed
changelings are allowed

so why not a pixie changeling!
let us know how it goes


Bull

  • *
  • Ace Runner
  • ****
  • Posts: 2426
  • Crotchety Old Ork Decker
« Reply #2 on: (11:47:54/04-11-11) »
It's a bit odd, but there's nothing against it.

FastJack

  • *
  • Administrator
  • Prime Runner
  • *****
  • Posts: 5947
  • Kids these days...
    • For those that hate 6E
« Reply #3 on: (11:54:19/04-11-11) »
Great, now I'm picturing a pixie that shapeshifts into a cute kitten.

Walks Through Walls

  • *
  • Ace Runner
  • ****
  • Posts: 1033
« Reply #4 on: (19:24:42/04-11-11) »
LOL fastjack. Either that or bunny. Hmmmm maybe that is what the killer rabbit in the Monty Python skit really was.
"Walking through walls isn't tough..... if you know where the doors are."
"It's not being seen that is the trick."

Walks Through Walls

KarmaInferno

  • *
  • Ace Runner
  • ****
  • Posts: 1873
  • Armor Stacking Cheese Monkey
« Reply #5 on: (23:12:16/04-12-11) »
Ya'll may be thinking of Shapeshifters.

Changelings are just folks who have SURGE abilities.

[edit]

Re-reading the Changeling text, it repeatedly identifies Changelings as metahumans afflicted by SURGE.

Pixies are by definition a "non-metahuman sapient".

This would seem to preclude pixies from having SURGE qualities.

[/edit]



-k
« Last Edit: (23:25:18/04-12-11) by KarmaInferno »

Medicineman

  • *
  • Ace Runner
  • ****
  • Posts: 2310
« Reply #6 on: (00:35:39/04-13-11) »
Ach komm ,jetzt mußt Du nicht päpstlicher als der Papst sein !(Sorry I don't know the english colloquial for that sentence)
If the Group wants to ,You can "Surge" everyone & everything
We even had Animals (Guarddogs and Housecats) with Adept Powers

@Fast Jack
It would be "the other Way 'round" ! A Shapeshifter would be the cute Kitten transforming into a Sprite ;)

He who does not  Dancequite  like the Pope
Medicineman
http://english.bouletcorp.com/2013/08/02/the-long-journey/
---------------------------------------------------
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=h1V7fi5IqYw
---------------------------------------------------
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-RYlAPjyNm8

Bull

  • *
  • Ace Runner
  • ****
  • Posts: 2426
  • Crotchety Old Ork Decker
« Reply #7 on: (01:00:12/04-13-11) »
Keep in mind, we're talking Missions, which has specific rules and guidelines that have to be followed if you want to play take your character into other Missions events, such as at cons.

Ahh, ok.  Here we go.  Found the relevant texts that solves the problem. 

Runner's Companion, p. 73
Quote
The first step when creating a changeling character is to choose a normal metatype (human, elf, dwarf, ork, or troll), metavariant (p. 46), or, contingent on gamemaster approval, a Non-Metahuman sapient. As with a regular character, this choice defines his natural attribute minimums and maximums, as well as setting augmented maximums (see Building a Shadowrunner, p. 72, SR4).

Shadowrun Missions Season Four FAQ, p. 5
Quote
CAN I USE OPTIONAL RULE (FILL IN THE BLANK)?

Unless this FAQ states otherwise, no. To give every Missions player the same game experience and maintain campaign balance, we
generally avoid using any rule that is listed as optional.

The key here is the phrase "Contigent upon gamemaster approval".  Anything that is subject to GM fiat in this way is considered an optional rule.  So the FAQ blanket rule applies.  Anything considered optional that the FAQ doesn't specifically say "Yes, this is allowed" is disallowed.

I apologize, since this means I'm going back on my earlier statement.  I had missed the opening part of "Creating a Changeling" on page 73.

Bull

Medicineman

  • *
  • Ace Runner
  • ****
  • Posts: 2310
« Reply #8 on: (01:18:05/04-13-11) »
Keep in mind, we're talking Missions, which has specific rules and guidelines that have to be followed if you want to play take your character into other Missions events, such as at cons.

UUUPs   :o Sorry
That totally slipped me ....
(I know the Mission Guidelines was even thinking of supporting them here in Germany,but I'd rather stick to the Indroduction and beginners Missions)

Yeah OK,shure ,if its one of the official Missions....
Ok ,I didn't say anything  :-X

with a silent Dance
Medicineman
« Last Edit: (01:20:53/04-13-11) by Medicineman »
http://english.bouletcorp.com/2013/08/02/the-long-journey/
---------------------------------------------------
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=h1V7fi5IqYw
---------------------------------------------------
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-RYlAPjyNm8

Seamus Harper

  • *
  • Newb
  • *
  • Posts: 23
« Reply #9 on: (18:14:41/04-14-11) »
The key here is the phrase "Contigent upon gamemaster approval".  Anything that is subject to GM fiat in this way is considered an optional rule.  So the FAQ blanket rule applies.  Anything considered optional that the FAQ doesn't specifically say "Yes, this is allowed" is disallowed.

I apologize, since this means I'm going back on my earlier statement.  I had missed the opening part of "Creating a Changeling" on page 73.

Bull

No need to apologize, the rule is the rule.  I had a feeling it might lean this way even though the wording is not quite "This is an optional rule" (I took it more to be saying that it was 'allowed unless specifically disallowed' but that's semantics).  Plus, personally I'd (serendipitously) already dropped the idea for my current character concept! 

Thanks for the clarification.  :D

wylie

  • *
  • Catalyst Demo Team
  • Omae
  • ***
  • Posts: 299
« Reply #10 on: (18:35:03/04-15-11) »
yeah, that optional ruling can really frag up a concept...

if in a home game, its up to the GM..

and nothing says you can't talk to the GM and players to let you try it out, even though by the rules it is not allowed
I am more for trying out a concept & everyone have fun

it sounds fun, but only playtest will prove it

good luck