NEWS

Most Immersive voice?

• 5 Replies

Chalkarts

• Omae
  • I'm a Street Painter in South Georgia.
« on: <05-28-20/1001:48> »
I would like to ask the dedicated bookworms a question.

When reading, which voice is the most immersive to you?

I did a thing, She did a thing, or You did a thing? Which one pulls you in behind the characters eyes and makes you dive deep?
I paint the pavement.  It's what I do.  Check it out on Instagram, @Chalkarts

FastJack

• Administrator
  • Prime Runner
  • Kids these days...
« Reply #1 on: <05-28-20/1118:20> »
He/She/They. I find first-person too cognitively dis-associative, unless it's a "Choose Your Own Adventure" type, since I'd rarely do what the author would say the character did. And You just seems weird, like I'm ordering the character around as omnipotent power.

Stainless Steel Devil Rat

• Errata Coordinator
  • Prime Runner
« Reply #2 on: <05-28-20/1128:35> »
Third person (he/she/they) is certainly the most commonly used perspective.  There are valid reasons to embrace or eschew it solely for the reason it's so common.

First person (I/me) is, imo, basically the only other universally viable option. 

Second person (You) only works in niche applications, I think.  As FJ said, a choose your own adventure book would be an example.
RPG mechanics exist to give structure and consistency to the game world, true, but at the end of the day, you’re fighting dragons with algebra and random number generators.

Chalkarts

• Omae
« Reply #3 on: <06-06-20/2045:37> »
Third person (he/she/they) is certainly the most commonly used perspective.  There are valid reasons to embrace or eschew it solely for the reason it's so common.

While it is a Choose Your Own Adventure story, I really dislike second person and think I've settled on 3rd.  It feels more natural to me.  I just worry that a CYOA in 3rd might be breaking the conventions of the genre too much.  BUt 2nd is just so clunky and forced.

Sphinx

• Errata Team
  • Omae