NEWS

[SR3] Cannon Companion Contradiction

  • 1 Replies
  • 841 Views

Shadowryuu

  • *
  • Newb
  • *
  • Posts: 1
« on: <09-19-18/1629:12> »
 I need a ruling. In the shadow run companion book pg 90 under maneuvers there is a contradiction. Paragraph three states that before a martial art skill can be advanced to an even number you have to purchase and learn a maneuver.

However the example in paragraph four states that if at character creation you purchase a martial arts at skill level 4 that you have to purchase at least one maneuver / max two.

To me that's contradictory to the previous paragraph as you are at an even skill level so you should be forced to buy a second maneuver before you can purchase level 4.

I just wanted to get your opinion as i will have a starting martial arts at 6 and thus need to know if i have to buy three maneuvers or if i only have to buy two but can not advance the skill until i buy another maneuver

Abider

  • *
  • Guest
« Reply #1 on: <09-19-18/1757:26> »
You need 2 maneuvers to get rank 5, unless it’s Brawl.  You’re only allowed to get the second maneuver at rank 4.