NEWS

Something I don't get about cyber weapons.

  • 4 Replies
  • 875 Views

Tassyr

  • *
  • Chummer
  • **
  • Posts: 177
« on: (19:56:07/09-05-17) »
Why do they cost essence if I'm installing them inside a cyberarm? The limb's already been cut off at the shoulder or elbow, so shouldn't that be the end of it? I mean I understand if you have a meat arm and for some reason stick a cybergun in it, but why does that still apply to a cyberlimb? Or am I missing something?
"There's a reason Johnsons are named what they are. They'll try and fuck you at some point, no doubt about it." -Camulus

ShadowcatX

  • *
  • Omae
  • ***
  • Posts: 573
« Reply #1 on: (20:31:32/09-05-17) »
They don't, they cost capacity in a cyber arm.

Tassyr

  • *
  • Chummer
  • **
  • Posts: 177
« Reply #2 on: (20:49:34/09-05-17) »
Huh. 'Cause it doesn't -say- that anywhere, at least in my copy, so I figured it used BOTH.
"There's a reason Johnsons are named what they are. They'll try and fuck you at some point, no doubt about it." -Camulus

Beta

  • *
  • Ace Runner
  • ****
  • Posts: 1173
  • SR1 player, SR5 GM@FtF & player@PbP
« Reply #3 on: (21:11:00/09-05-17) »
Oh, it says it *somewhere * although maybe not entirely  directly.  the SR5 core rule book is notorious for burying key points deep in long blocks of text, and scattering the information you need on a given topic over multiple locations (just for fun, look up how spirits immunity to mundane weapons works)

OK, several of the cyber ware categories (headwaters, eyeware, bodyware, earmark) talk about capacity or essence.  On page 456 in the cyber limbs section it states (at the end of a paragraph about agility and strength) "cyberlimbs cannot hold any bioware, nor any cyber-implant that takes up essence rather than capacity."

 I think between the other sections and that sentence it makes it clear enough that weapons can use capacity or essence.

Xenon

  • *
  • Prime Runner
  • *****
  • Posts: 4816
« Reply #4 on: (03:43:36/04-24-18) »
(Sorry for the necro, just adding a reference to the rulebook in case others find this topic and want to know)

Why do they cost essence if I'm installing them inside a cyberarm?
They don't:

SR5 p. 451 Headware
Items that have a Capacity Cost [in brackets] may be installed in cyberlimbs instead, costing Capacity rather than Essence.

SR5 p. 454 Bodyware
Bodyware cannot be installed into cyberlimbs unless it has a Capacity cost [in brackets]. Bodyware with a Capacity cost can be installed in cyberlimbs, costing capacity rather than Essence.

SR5 p. 456 Cyberlimbs
Cyberlimbs cannot hold any bioware, nor any cyber-implants that take up Essence rather than Capacity...[Cyberlimbs] have Capacity, letting you add cyberweapons and other cyber systems that have a Capacity cost [in brackets].

SR5 p. 456 Cyberlimb Enhancements
Cyberlimb enhancements use up to the Capacity of the cyberlimb they enhance.
« Last Edit: (03:49:46/04-24-18) by Xenon »