NEWS

Need some help with maps

• 14 Replies

chinlamp

• Newb
« on: <02-08-12/0719:39> »
Hi, I'm new to GMing, having only done two sessions, and have fudged my maps so far (the first was simply taking the current map of the Seattle Art Museum and changing exhibit names, the second just used an apartment room from Sprawl Sites), but I find that in my next run, things are going to need a bit more detail.  Or, at the very least, something more unique (it's an Ares R&D lab).

Which is why I want to ask this: what do the GM's here, on this forum, use for making maps?  Not maps like you need for D&D, which has whole areas, nor maps that have battle hexes on them (our group is more inclined to describing things, and giving rough estimates of distances than using figures on a board.  At least when it comes to Shadowrun), but  actual floor plan layouts.

The Seattle Art Museum one I used: http://www.seattleartmuseum.org/visit/pdf/SAMGalleryMap.pdf

If anyone can direct me to a program or site that can help me do this, or a site with a large amount of similar maps that I can modify in Paint (I don't have Photoshop, nor a tablet), it would be much appreciated.

CitizenJoe

• Ace Runner
« Reply #1 on: <02-08-12/0748:47> »
Bing Maps (just search for it) has venue maps where it shows the inside of some buildings.

raggedhalo

• Omae
« Reply #2 on: <02-08-12/0841:02> »
I like Campaign Cartographer with the Modern symbol set...
Joe Rooney
Freelancer (Missions and otherwise: here's my stuff, plus CMP 2011-05 Burn Notice)

My Obsidian Portal profile

Crash_00

« Reply #3 on: <02-08-12/0850:03> »
I usually just google for "X floor plans" where x is the type of facility and then use an image result that I like. I'll tweak it in Pain or Painter to my linking if I need to. It's quite amazing what you can find, everything from military buildings to labs and apartments in seconds.

chinlamp

• Newb
« Reply #4 on: <02-08-12/2351:40> »
Thanks for that.