NEWS

Mana Storms and the "Land Down Under"

• 9 Replies

Pure Mongrel

• Newb
« on: <10-29-10/1737:25> »
The info I have on Mana Storms is very limited and vague.

I understand that Sydney Australia is constantly surrounded and battered by Mana Storms.

What would this mean to the city and its populous? Is it still a functioning city? Is it completely cut off from the rest of the world, fending for itself or has it been altered by the storms?

If some one want to get through a Mana Storm, could they do it? If so what are the dangers?

Thanks in advance,

PM

Nomad Zophiel

• Omae
  • Zophiel by name. Nomad by profession.
« Reply #1 on: <10-29-10/1749:08> »
The following is based on Street Magic pg 122

Mana Storms don't look completely unbeatable, just nasty. A vehicle with a good autpilot and more armor than the force of the storm will ignore the illusions and not be in danger from the damage of the storm's magic. Then it just has be have a good enough autopilot to make it through the mundane storm. The people inside might have a little trouble with the illusions until they get through but they'll probably survive intact.

Based on that, Sydney is not cut off but the import/export business is going to be a lot more expensive.

The Cat

• Chummer
« Reply #2 on: <10-30-10/0029:13> »
Sidney has had over 60 years to adapt.  Beyond that, it's also a Corp owned city with a population of 10 or 11 million people, so it can't be too hard to move people and supplies in and out on a regular basis, the storms kicking it up a few notches on occasion notwithstanding.  The supply of food and water alone for 11 million people on a daily basis is staggering, not to mention raw materials for industry, outgoing products to keep the corps in the chips and so on.

Given what is published about Sidney, I'd say it's no real big deal.

Pure Mongrel

• Newb
« Reply #3 on: <10-30-10/0211:01> »
So what does a Mana Storm do exactly and what Corp owns Sydney?

Nomad Zophiel

• Omae