NEWS

Questions for the SRM FAQ Committee

  • 74 Replies
  • 23362 Views

techwiz78

  • *
  • Newb
  • *
  • Posts: 1
« Reply #30 on: (23:35:08/02-05-18) »
If this happens to still be going, in the FAQ Bloody Business is under the "The following Shadowrun Adventures are not intended for Shadowrun Missions play" section. That leaves it a little ambiguous as to whether we can use the Body Sculpt adept power at the end of the book, and some clarification on that would be very helpful.

Jayde Moon

  • *
  • Administrator
  • Ace Runner
  • *****
  • Posts: 2312
  • Shadowrun Missions Developer
« Reply #31 on: (16:39:56/05-16-18) »
I asked about whether addiction to Hot Sim is tested for here but it seems this is the appropriate place to have asked.

No testing for Hot Sim addiction in Missions.  In the FAQ.
That's just like... your opinion, man.

Jayde Moon

  • *
  • Administrator
  • Ace Runner
  • *****
  • Posts: 2312
  • Shadowrun Missions Developer
« Reply #32 on: (16:40:29/05-16-18) »
If this happens to still be going, in the FAQ Bloody Business is under the "The following Shadowrun Adventures are not intended for Shadowrun Missions play" section. That leaves it a little ambiguous as to whether we can use the Body Sculpt adept power at the end of the book, and some clarification on that would be very helpful.

Will check in with the FAQ team but leaning towards a negative.
That's just like... your opinion, man.

Slamm-O!

  • *
  • Chummer
  • **
  • Posts: 148
« Reply #33 on: (22:17:04/05-19-18) »
<Question asked on Reddit - Reposted for an official answer here>

What poisons are legitimate for a chemical gland?
Mess with the best.  Die like the rest !

Stainless Steel Devil Rat

  • *
  • Errata Team
  • Ace Runner
  • ***
  • Posts: 2440
« Reply #34 on: (18:32:34/05-20-18) »
I'd like to know if there's a stance on whether you can pick the same Critter power more than once when summoning Spirits.  Usually doesn't matter, but arguably one can take Innate Spell repeatedly to get "one spell" each pick rather than one spell total.  Be nice to know if there's a "right way" to read that in the eyes of the SRM folks, or if it's left to table variation.
RPG mechanics exist to give structure and consistency to the game world, true, but at the end of the day, you’re fighting dragons with algebra and random number generators.

KarmaInferno

  • *
  • Ace Runner
  • ****
  • Posts: 1873
  • Armor Stacking Cheese Monkey
« Reply #35 on: (22:10:29/05-27-18) »
Anthroform drones are noted in the rules as being able to use metahuman gear.

This isn't actually detailed in the books as far as actual rules mechanics, but in the past some of the book authors have indicated that as far as armor, you should pick the best armor rating between the integral and worn armor and just use that. Is this the case for Missions? Does the Hardened quality of integral armor apply at all if the worn armor has a higher rating?

Thanks,


-j

Jayde Moon

  • *
  • Administrator
  • Ace Runner
  • *****
  • Posts: 2312
  • Shadowrun Missions Developer
« Reply #36 on: (20:38:42/06-08-18) »
<Question asked on Reddit - Reposted for an official answer here>

What poisons are legitimate for a chemical gland?

Off the cuff, anything that does't expressly say that it's only synthetic.

That will serve until the FAQ Committee looks over it.
That's just like... your opinion, man.

Jayde Moon

  • *
  • Administrator
  • Ace Runner
  • *****
  • Posts: 2312
  • Shadowrun Missions Developer
« Reply #37 on: (20:39:58/06-08-18) »
I'd like to know if there's a stance on whether you can pick the same Critter power more than once when summoning Spirits.  Usually doesn't matter, but arguably one can take Innate Spell repeatedly to get "one spell" each pick rather than one spell total.  Be nice to know if there's a "right way" to read that in the eyes of the SRM folks, or if it's left to table variation.

As of right now, nothing stops a Spirit from having the same critter power more than once.  We'll see if the FAQ team has concerns about balancing over the course of Missions play.
That's just like... your opinion, man.

Jayde Moon

  • *
  • Administrator
  • Ace Runner
  • *****
  • Posts: 2312
  • Shadowrun Missions Developer
« Reply #38 on: (20:43:49/06-08-18) »
Anthroform drones are noted in the rules as being able to use metahuman gear.

This isn't actually detailed in the books as far as actual rules mechanics, but in the past some of the book authors have indicated that as far as armor, you should pick the best armor rating between the integral and worn armor and just use that. Is this the case for Missions? Does the Hardened quality of integral armor apply at all if the worn armor has a higher rating?

Thanks,


-j

This will get into some wonky stacking rules, but here we go:

Let's say you have Drone Armor 6 wearing an Armor Jacket (12)

You keep the best parts of each armor.

So you have Armor 12 with 6 counting as 'Hardened Armor'.

So if hit with 0 AP, you roll 12 dice and also take 3 off of the original DV.

If you are hit with -4 AP, everything gets reduced by that -4.

So your Jacket is giving you 8.  Your Drone Armor is giving you 2.

So now you have Armor 8 with 2 counting as 'Hardened Armor'.  You roll 8 dice and take 1 off of the original DV.

Clear as mud?
That's just like... your opinion, man.

Kiirnodel

  • *
  • Catalyst Demo Team
  • Ace Runner
  • ***
  • Posts: 1471
« Reply #39 on: (21:41:40/06-08-18) »
Anthroform drones are noted in the rules as being able to use metahuman gear.

This isn't actually detailed in the books as far as actual rules mechanics, but in the past some of the book authors have indicated that as far as armor, you should pick the best armor rating between the integral and worn armor and just use that. Is this the case for Missions? Does the Hardened quality of integral armor apply at all if the worn armor has a higher rating?

Thanks,


-j

This will get into some wonky stacking rules, but here we go:

Let's say you have Drone Armor 6 wearing an Armor Jacket (12)

You keep the best parts of each armor.

So you have Armor 12 with 6 counting as 'Hardened Armor'.

So if hit with 0 AP, you roll 12 dice and also take 3 off of the original DV.

If you are hit with -4 AP, everything gets reduced by that -4.

So your Jacket is giving you 8.  Your Drone Armor is giving you 2.

So now you have Armor 8 with 2 counting as 'Hardened Armor'.  You roll 8 dice and take 1 off of the original DV.

Clear as mud?

The integral armor on Drones isn't considered Hardened Armor. Drones and Vehicles simply don't take Stun damage, which is why if the modified damage value doesn't exceed the modified armor value the drone simply doesn't take any damage. So there isn't any reason to worry about a complicated system, worn armor on a drone simply overrides the integral armor of the drone. And the drone damage still works the same way, if the damage would be converted to Stun because it doesn't exceed the armor, the drone simply takes no damage.

Drones and Vehicles don't get free hits on the Soak test from their Armor.

Stainless Steel Devil Rat

  • *
  • Errata Team
  • Ace Runner
  • ***
  • Posts: 2440
« Reply #40 on: (22:24:50/06-08-18) »
Thanks for the answers during the Silly Season keeping y'all so busy Jayde Moon!

But since no good deed goes unpunished, and since when Redwulfe tried it it got results...

Any chance we can get a SRM ruling on whether Drones are capable or incapable of participating in Teamwork Tests?

Edit:
I'd like to know if there's a stance on whether you can pick the same Critter power more than once when summoning Spirits.  Usually doesn't matter, but arguably one can take Innate Spell repeatedly to get "one spell" each pick rather than one spell total.  Be nice to know if there's a "right way" to read that in the eyes of the SRM folks, or if it's left to table variation.

As of right now, nothing stops a Spirit from having the same critter power more than once.  We'll see if the FAQ team has concerns about balancing over the course of Missions play.

So just to be clear for pedantry's sake.. since a Spirit may get the Innate Spell critter power more than once, is it getting the same "one" spell more than once or one different spell each time the power is selected?  (I'm guessing here you probably mean it can have more than one known spell based off the spirit of your answer)
« Last Edit: (23:47:37/06-08-18) by Stainless Steel Devil Rat »
RPG mechanics exist to give structure and consistency to the game world, true, but at the end of the day, you’re fighting dragons with algebra and random number generators.

Jayde Moon

  • *
  • Administrator
  • Ace Runner
  • *****
  • Posts: 2312
  • Shadowrun Missions Developer
« Reply #41 on: (23:03:06/06-14-18) »
The integral armor on Drones isn't considered Hardened Armor. Drones and Vehicles simply don't take Stun damage, which is why if the modified damage value doesn't exceed the modified armor value the drone simply doesn't take any damage. So there isn't any reason to worry about a complicated system, worn armor on a drone simply overrides the integral armor of the drone. And the drone damage still works the same way, if the damage would be converted to Stun because it doesn't exceed the armor, the drone simply takes no damage.

Drones and Vehicles don't get free hits on the Soak test from their Armor.

Hey, thanks for that clarification.  My interpretation was one I have been running with since I played Missions with the Portland crew and was based on how I learned it rather than double checking in the book, so I appreciate being course corrected on that.

So, yeah, just use the higher Armor rating and if it gets turned to Stun, then it doesn't apply.
That's just like... your opinion, man.

Jayde Moon

  • *
  • Administrator
  • Ace Runner
  • *****
  • Posts: 2312
  • Shadowrun Missions Developer
« Reply #42 on: (23:09:15/06-14-18) »
Any chance we can get a SRM ruling on whether Drones are capable or incapable of participating in Teamwork Tests?

since a Spirit may get the Innate Spell critter power more than once, is it getting the same "one" spell more than once or one different spell each time the power is selected?  (I'm guessing here you probably mean it can have more than one known spell based off the spirit of your answer)

If the drone is physically capable of assisting.  Perception test, too easy.  Spotter for a shooting test, I'll buy it.  Rotodrone helping you pick that maglock, probably not... (I say probably because some rigger will add an extended articulated arm that will enable to assist from ten feet above or something).

As of now, there is nothing that stops a Spirit of Man from having two different spells in two instances of Innate Spell
That's just like... your opinion, man.

Jayde Moon

  • *
  • Administrator
  • Ace Runner
  • *****
  • Posts: 2312
  • Shadowrun Missions Developer
« Reply #43 on: (00:57:59/06-26-18) »
Alright, so... previous questions committeefied:

Body Sculpt will be added.

For the chemical gland, until Errata defines what is 'natural' and what isn't, ALL chemicals are legitimate.

You can pick critter powers more than once.  Want to cast two different spells?  Then pick innate spell twice with a different spell each time.  Want to shoot fire AND ice?  Pick Elemental Attack twice.

Drones and teamwork tests:  Dog Brain Drone cannot assist Meat People.  Dog Brain Drone can assist other Dog Brain Drone is they are on the same RCC.  Rigger possessed drone can assist Meat People.

As with any teamwork test, as long as it makes sense.

Also... which attribute does a Rigger use to shoot if jumped in?  Agility in ALL cases UNLESS there is a Sensor Lock, in which case it becomes Logic.

These will be in the next FAQ release.
That's just like... your opinion, man.

Redwulfe

  • *
  • Catalyst Demo Team
  • Omae
  • ***
  • Posts: 695
« Reply #44 on: (01:34:51/06-26-18) »
Thank you guys for finding time to look those over and giving us rulings on those.

not to add to your plate but did the FAQ committee look at skill wire and cold sim addictions?
There are 10 kinds of people in this world, those who understand binary and those who don't

Red

*Play-by-Post color guide*
Thinking
com
speaking