NEWS

Street Grimoire Errata

  • 179 Replies
  • 53422 Views

Frostbyte

  • *
  • Newb
  • *
  • Posts: 50
  • Good news, everyone!
« Reply #60 on: (17:44:16/07-09-14) »
Page 105, Radiation Beam and Radiation Burst have vastly incongruous descriptions.

Radiation Beam, the supposed single target spell, is listed as (Direct, Area) with drain as F-3 (which would be super sweet for an area spell), while Radiation Burst is listed as merely (Indirect, Elemental). So one's direct and one's indirect?

(Also, I agree with what some other people have pointed out, the "Secrets of the Initiates" section is a mess.)


Page 201, under Conjuring an Ally:

"If the binding succeeds, the magician pays an amount of Karma as outlined in the ally’s spirit formula. If the binding generates succeeds, the magician pays an amount of Karma as outlined in the ally’s spirit formula."

This seems odd. Copy/paste error from a redline document?

Ryo

  • *
  • Ace Runner
  • ****
  • Posts: 1924
« Reply #61 on: (05:42:29/07-16-14) »
It should probably be specified in the Adepts and Rituals section that Adepts can only take Rituals that have the Adept keyword. As it stands, the book says that only Adepts can take those rituals, not that those are the only rituals available to an Adept. Without this distinction, Rules as Written, an Adept could take any number of rituals, or even make his own Ally Spirit.

Maybe that's intended, but it doesn't sound like it.

Lucean

  • *
  • Ace Runner
  • ****
  • Posts: 1159
« Reply #62 on: (08:03:56/07-16-14) »
p. 139 and the following seem to exclusively use the term magician when talking about Magic Arts:

Quote
Presented here are some of the higher arts a magician can initiate into—either alone, through a group, or with a school.

So by that line I think only mystic adepts following the Magician's Way can initiate into the Magic Arts.

Ariketh

  • *
  • Omae
  • ***
  • Posts: 258
« Reply #63 on: (02:36:11/07-17-14) »
p. 139 and the following seem to exclusively use the term magician when talking about Magic Arts:

Quote
Presented here are some of the higher arts a magician can initiate into—either alone, through a group, or with a school.

So by that line I think only mystic adepts following the Magician's Way can initiate into the Magic Arts.

Freelancer already weighed in on this, and considering a couple of his other posts, I suspect he knows what's going on:

http://forums.shadowruntabletop.com/index.php?topic=17274.msg305529#msg305529

-Ariketh

Lucean

  • *
  • Ace Runner
  • ****
  • Posts: 1159
« Reply #64 on: (03:45:48/07-17-14) »
Thanks, lost track of that thread ...

So for the Art of Channeling you have to take the Channeling metamagic, since it's listed as prerequisite for the ritual/enchantment?
That would be about 18 karma net loss for possession based traditions compared to SR4, realistically even more since you need to initiate for the "standard" stuff, too. That is even neglecting the issue that one better specializes on one type of vessels or otherwise you'd need one more skill to raise and 5 additional karma for the missing ritual/enchantment.

The absolute need to have chosen a way as a quality before being able to initiate into it is not so good from a fluff perspective. Because now every adept without a way seems to fall under Undecided. For me it's like having to pay karma to have a tradition as a mage :(

Ariketh

  • *
  • Omae
  • ***
  • Posts: 258
« Reply #65 on: (04:48:04/07-17-14) »
So for the Art of Channeling you have to take the Channeling metamagic, since it's listed as prerequisite for the ritual/enchantment?
That would be about 18 karma net loss for possession based traditions compared to SR4, realistically even more since you need to initiate for the "standard" stuff, too. That is even neglecting the issue that one better specializes on one type of vessels or otherwise you'd need one more skill to raise and 5 additional karma for the missing ritual/enchantment.

The absolute need to have chosen a way as a quality before being able to initiate into it is not so good from a fluff perspective. Because now every adept without a way seems to fall under Undecided. For me it's like having to pay karma to have a tradition as a mage :(

Yeah, it looks that way. And yes, I agree. Requiring the Way quality to be a practitioner of that Way is a bit too much. Clarity in the errata would be good.

-Ariketh

Xelron

  • *
  • Newb
  • *
  • Posts: 5
« Reply #66 on: (15:24:39/07-17-14) »
Cant find the rule how Mystic-Adepts can by PP after creation.

Adept Ways are to expensive with 20 create karma or 40 in game karma for what you get from it.

Page176
1.) THE ARTIST’S WAY --> replace nimble fingers because its costs 0.25 PP and cant be halft
2.) THE ARTIST’S WAY --> replace kinetics because its costs 0.25 PP and cant be halft
3.) THE ATHLETE’S WAY --> Greate Leap do's not exist

Page 178
1.) THE INVISIBLE WAY --> Greate Leap do's not exist
2.) THE SPEAKER’S WAY --> replace kinetics because its costs 0.25 PP and cant be halft

Page 156
1.) AIR WALKING --> to what is the initiate grade added exactly?

Page 32
1.)  BACKGROUND COUNT RULES --> because 1-3 backround count is normal (see description on page 31) for the barrens (simply from polution and violance) so that foci are nearly useless unless they have a high force
2.) BACKGROUND COUNT RULES --> because 1-3 backround count is normal  for the barrens and you have a run in other barrens (eg. Redmont) nearly all Powers of an Adept get useless.
      Even  IMPROVED REFLEXES 3 get useless with a backround count of 3 because all added dice will be negated and this for 3.5 PP.
     Or take IMPROVED SENSE low light vision with 1-3 dice penalety on every perseption test. Or or or ....
3.)  BACKGROUND COUNT RULES --> Please list up the effected powers or redesign the backround count for adepts

The dice penalety is ok for a mage because he can take the cleansing Meta feat and the dice penalety isn't so hard for them as for adepts where it goes up parallel for all powers.
Please list up the
« Last Edit: (16:10:53/07-17-14) by Xelron »

Timothy M. Patrick

  • *
  • Chummer
  • **
  • Posts: 113
    • Critical Glitch
« Reply #67 on: (16:20:32/07-17-14) »
Cant find the rule how Mystic-Adepts can by PP after creation.



They must take the Meta Magic when they initiate.
Co-Host of CriticalGlitch a Shadowrun podcast Criticalglitch.com

Lucean

  • *
  • Ace Runner
  • ****
  • Posts: 1159
« Reply #68 on: (16:27:04/07-17-14) »
Right, Sendaz ...
« Last Edit: (01:23:26/07-18-14) by Lucean »

Sendaz

  • *
  • Ace Runner
  • ****
  • Posts: 2201
  • Associate of Rywfol Emwolb Industries
« Reply #69 on: (16:49:14/07-17-14) »
Um, actually a 3 Background count should mean -3 dice to that initiative roll for the poor sod trying to use IR3 in that zone.
Quote from: SG pg 32
A background count impose a negative dice pool penalty equal to its rating for all tests linked in any way to magic
<snip>
Adepts may use a Simple Action to turn on or off a passive power in cases where penalties from background counts might exceed bonuses from their powers.
This last bit is what can really impact adepts since it doesn't matter if he has IR1 or IR3, in a BGC of 3 he is taking -3 dice even if it exceeds what he was originally getting unless he turns it off.

Magically powered also means magically vulnerable in the new order.

« Last Edit: (16:51:40/07-17-14) by Sendaz »
Do you believe in a greater WIRELESS, an Invisible(WiFi) All Seeing(detecting those connected- at least if within 100'), All Knowing(all online data) Presence that we can draw upon for Wisdom(downloads & updates), Strength (wifi boni) and Comfort (porn) or do you turn your back on it  (Go Offline)?

Ariketh

  • *
  • Omae
  • ***
  • Posts: 258
« Reply #70 on: (03:35:51/07-18-14) »
Cant find the rule how Mystic-Adepts can by PP after creation.



They must take the Meta Magic when they initiate.

Uh, no they don't.

 “If  you’re  an  adept,  you  get  a  free  Power Point whenever you increase your Magic attribute (though this doesn’t apply to mystic adepts, and you can gain a Power Point through Initiation (p. 324) instead of gaining a metamagic.”

That's from the SR5 errata. So MA's don't get a PP when they increase their magic, but they can sack their metamagic to get a PP.

-Ariketh

Sendaz

  • *
  • Ace Runner
  • ****
  • Posts: 2201
  • Associate of Rywfol Emwolb Industries
« Reply #71 on: (06:33:08/07-18-14) »
Um, actually a 3 Background count should mean -3 dice to that initiative roll for the poor sod trying to use IR3 in that zone.
Quote from: SG pg 32
A background count impose a negative dice pool penalty equal to its rating for all tests linked in any way to magic
<snip>
Adepts may use a Simple Action to turn on or off a passive power in cases where penalties from background counts might exceed bonuses from their powers.
This last bit is what can really impact adepts since it doesn't matter if he has IR1 or IR3, in a BGC of 3 he is taking -3 dice even if it exceeds what he was originally getting unless he turns it off.

Magically powered also means magically vulnerable in the new order.

Right, Sendaz ...

@ Lucean: Actually it turns out you are right concerning the effect on Initiative.

Bull popped up and clarified why you don't lose init dice (but still lose reaction for dodge and such) to BGC HERE.

So maybe for errata they could add in something clarifying it or at least a FAQ somewhere down the road as it could easily be misread for Init otherwise
« Last Edit: (06:35:04/07-18-14) by Sendaz »
Do you believe in a greater WIRELESS, an Invisible(WiFi) All Seeing(detecting those connected- at least if within 100'), All Knowing(all online data) Presence that we can draw upon for Wisdom(downloads & updates), Strength (wifi boni) and Comfort (porn) or do you turn your back on it  (Go Offline)?

Xelron

  • *
  • Newb
  • *
  • Posts: 5
« Reply #72 on: (15:31:47/07-18-14) »
Thanks for the link.

But Bulls answer isn't very satisfying.
A list which power is affected which way would be necessary.
For example  i can't figure out how "improved sense" -> low light vision is affected by backround count. Get i no minus dices due to it isn't a power which grants bonus dice, get i only minus dice to perception test or get i this minus dice even to attack rolls because low light vision affects my attack dice pool  too (due to vision modifiers).  This was a discussion with a friend of mine with no conclusion.
So this is not a simple rule which is easily applied.
I would prefer a rule like "Every backround count subtract one PP". Simple to apply and has a good scaling with the backround count. And it is even simple to explain: The backround count make it harder to channel mana into your body so that you can't obtain all your powers.

Is it still possible in SR5 to obtain meta-feats per karma up to the initiate grade like it was in SR4? Haven't found something about this.
« Last Edit: (16:17:42/07-18-14) by Xelron »

Xelron

  • *
  • Newb
  • *
  • Posts: 5
« Reply #73 on: (16:38:00/07-18-14) »
Cant find the rule how Mystic-Adepts can by PP after creation.



They must take the Meta Magic when they initiate.

Sorry this is a kind of stupid.
It is a good rule for Magic-Adepts with main part is the magican but horrible for Magic-Adepts with main part Adept.
In addition it forces the player to create the character with max magic value so that they can buy a lot of PP for 5 Karma each. Simply out of the reason that a Character with a low start magic value never can build up to that PP values.


ZeConster

  • *
  • Prime Runner
  • *****
  • Posts: 2555
« Reply #74 on: (20:28:06/07-18-14) »
Mystic Adepts getting a free PP whenever they increase their Magic would be unbalancing. The current system isn't perfect, but it's better than giving Mystics the free PP.
« Last Edit: (20:49:54/07-18-14) by ZeConster »