NEWS

Starting a Lone Star game and would appreciate input

• 80 Replies

under_score

• Newb
« on: <02-26-12/2341:11> »
Howdy all.  First, let me thank the lot of you for all the inspiration, advice, and clarification I've already seen.  I've skimmed through (and read much of) the 22 pages of threads in this forum over the past week or so and found a lot of interesting and sage thoughts floating around.  So, thanks. 

I've been playing Shadowrun (only 4th edition) for about six years now and quite a bit of dnd 3.5 in that time as well (and a little bit here and there of other games, but to no great extent).  About 3 years ago, I ran my first game, which was Shadowrun.  If I recall accurately, it ran about 10 missions over about 15 sessions.  Late last year I wrapped a very long Eberron game that saw the party from 3rd level up to the mid 20s (yes, it got a bit ridiculous).  And now, I'm itching to start a new game of SR...I'll probably be hitting the first session in just over a week.  Maybe two. 

Feeling inspired by watching a lot of police procedurals and their ilk (most notably Castle, X-Files, and Angel -- also, don't tell me anything about Angel I'm only in the first season and avoiding spoilers) and having just reread Neuromancer and rewatched the Matrix, I'm set to run a crew of Lone Star detectives. 

I'm only going to have four players (I may add a 5th later in the year) because I think shadowrun can get really bogged down with a lot of players, and this game especially would make sense with a smaller group.  The action will be set in Seattle in mid-2070 in part because I don't have any of the newest books and because I like the tension of keeping the policing contract from KE, trying to hunt down the Mayan Cutter, and dealing with the gubernatorial race.