NEWS

Seeking help to elaborate my narration

• 6 Replies

SamTwist

• Newb
« on: <05-07-14/1207:25> »
Hi everyone,

I would like to know if some of you might be able to provide assistance regarding my narration.
I started quite recently as a GameMaster so I'm still learning the ropes.

So far, my players are enjoying the game, however, there is one player who feels that my descriptions are a little stale when things happen in the Matrix.

I'd like to know if you guys would be so kind to give me your take on how you would narrate a specific sequence.

Imagine the Decker/Technomancer needs to hack into an Horizon Database in order to create credentials so that the rest of the team can get into the building without suspicions.

I understand the mechanics involved to make this happen, but I'm in need of inspiration for some extra fluff to properly describe the Matrix.

Thanks in advance!

SlowDeck

• Ace Runner
  • How do people add personal text under their name?
« Reply #1 on: <05-07-14/1256:53> »
I'll give you the same advice my face-to-face GM gave me for my matrix descriptions: Ham it up.

The Matrix is, from what I have read, designed primarily to be practical. While this is actually realistic and makes for writing mechanics better, it's also narratively boring. The key to what is, by nature, mundane being made narratively exciting is to overact a bit or go a bit over the top when describing it; otherwise, usually, narrations just gloss over it.
« Last Edit: <05-07-14/1308:09> by SlowDeck »
"Speech" Spirit/"Astral" Thought/"Subvocal" Matrix/"Commlink" "Totem" [Time/Date] <<Text&email>>

farothel

• Prime Runner
« Reply #2 on: <05-07-14/1306:43> »
Try to read Tom Clancy's Netforce novels (there is also one movie about one of those if I'm not mistaken).  There they also have VR and he gives some descriptions.  You can use that as basis for your own games.