NEWS

The guy in the van

• 10 Replies

Chalkarts

• Omae
  • I'm a Street Painter in South Georgia.
« on: <05-18-15/0002:02> »
I live in a gaming desert. 
I have run a lot of games over the years before moving here.
I want to put my first Shadowrun campaign together and wanted some advice from experienced GMs.

When I finally manage to get some runners together, as a GM, how should I handle the guy in the van issue.
I saw this as a problem in the long SR. Campaign I played in years ago and it frustrated our GM to no end lol.

By guy in the van issue I mean it seems SR. Lends itself to splitting up the group a lot.  While the Street Sam and Adepts are inside pounding faces there was a Rigger or Decker or Astral Mage body chillin in the van missing most of the fun.  I don't like just murdering a character but I'm not sure how to keep the group as a single unit with everyone taking a bit of risk. 

With this being my first SR campaign I don't want to be too hard on the van riders but I'd really like to get them out of the van and into the adventure in the meat.

How do you deal with it, do you throw random things at the van, cut off their COMS so they can't talk to the group from the van, or just blow up the van every session lol?
I paint the pavement.  It's what I do.  Check it out on Instagram, @Chalkarts

Kincaid

• Freelancer
  • Prime Runner
« Reply #1 on: <05-18-15/1001:14> »
Many of the changes to deckers in 5e were designed to get them out of the van.  Noise imposes a penalty to their actions based on distance and a host's firewall is often too high, requiring a decker to directly connect to something on-site.

An astrally projecting mage can't target things in the meat world that aren't dual natured, making him useless when the sam and the adept are facing mundane guys with guns.