NEWS

What books from the 4th edition era would be best to acquire?

• 3 Replies

LadyQuiris

• Newb
« on: <07-04-14/1102:22> »
I am fairly new to Shadowrun and I just got the 5th edition core game book and I plan on getting all 5th edition books as they come out from now on... I am also pretty new to the world of this game and the last time I read anything about this game it was during it's 3rd edition days and I pretty much missed the 4th edition era.

So I am asking this from the perspective of a brand new potential GM wanting to run a game... what books from the 4th edition/20A era of sourcebooks would be the best ones to get? Either because of fluff of the game world, or all practical game usefulness as a whole like a bestiary kind of book of creatures, a book that just goes over the world better for the average person, a book that details how to make adventures better than what's in the core book, things like that. What are the most useful books to get?

TheDai

• Chummer
« Reply #1 on: <07-04-14/1116:35> »
I asked the same question when I began with 5th Edition. Here is what I got:

1. 6th World Almanac (haven't read it, so I can't say much about it)

2. Seattle 2074: Now that is an awesome book! 100% Fluff, 100% Seattle. Splendid and very informative to read.

3. Vice: Deals and explains a lot about criminal organizations (Mafia, Yakuza, Triads, Gangers, and a few little ones). This one might give you an idea overflow if you plan a street level campaign ;) Also just Fluff, so nothing there that isn't still relevant.

But having said that, I'm also interested in such a list. Especially Fluff Books, because my collection and knowledge about these is also very small. :)
One dagger in the night is more valuable, than thousand swords in the morning.

Dangersaurus

• Chummer
« Reply #2 on: <07-04-14/1827:33> »
Sixth World Almanac, Corporate Guide, Vice, Stormfront, and Attitude go together well to give you a good overview of the world of the early 2070s.