NEWS

Bound spirits

• 7 Replies

Chalkarts

• Omae
  • I'm a Street Painter in South Georgia.
« on: <01-19-20/1750:46> »
I've got an aspected Mage, Summoner, High magic rating.
He's also a Decker.
In theory he summons a spirit to watch and protect him when he goes full VR.

From what I've read, Binding a spirit is cruel and they hate it.

But I was recently reading some fluff whose main character had an Air spirit that seamed amicable to him and didn't seem annoyed at all.  Was that just a writing choice by the author or is there a way to make a bound spirit a friendly entity instead of just a disgruntled bellhop?
I paint the pavement.  It's what I do.  Check it out on Instagram, @Chalkarts

Stainless Steel Devil Rat

• Errata Coordinator
  • Prime Runner
« Reply #1 on: <01-19-20/1801:04> »
It's a role-playing thing.
RPG mechanics exist to give structure and consistency to the game world, true, but at the end of the day, you’re fighting dragons with algebra and random number generators.

GuardDuty

• Newb
« Reply #2 on: <01-19-20/1932:00> »
Or a retcon thing.  It used to be that the summoning ritual of an elemental bound it to you until all it's services were fulfilled or you released it from your service, and at that time it was not considered cruel.  They didn't introduce the notion that spirits really don't like that until after they changed the magic system in 4E, so any fiction before that (and some that came after) usually portray bound spirits as friendly or indifferent, unless they feel mistreated for a separate reason.

• Errata Coordinator
  • Prime Runner
« Reply #3 on: <01-19-20/1941:03> »
That's a good point.. Elementals and Nature Spirits used to be completely different things and of course would have completely different attitudes about things.  Not true any longer, ever since 4e and the "Unified Magical Theory".