NEWS

[SR6] Matrix Landscapes

• 1 Replies

MercilessMing

• Omae
« on: <05-18-20/1931:20> »
Hey folks,
I'm not new to Shadowrun, but I am a bit new to running matrix post-4e.  It's been all AR with occasional VR host run.  I've managed.  Ironically, I understand AR pretty well, it's VR and hosts I have trouble with.
Things are unclear to me when you're in VR and not in a host.
I've heard that AR is to astral perception as VR is to astral projection.  How far does this metaphor extend?
I'm on the street downtown, and drop into VR.  Is my persona a virtual ghost, emerging from my floppy body in the matrix location corresponding to my body's meat space, for all AR users to see?
Should the matrix be treated, outside of the virtual "rabbit holes" of hosts, as a 1:1 mirror plane like the astral?
I have a ton more questions but it's tough to organize my thoughts right now.  More later I guess.

Stainless Steel Devil Rat

• Errata Coordinator
  • Prime Runner
« Reply #1 on: <05-18-20/2006:25> »
No, it's not a direct parallel to Astral Space.

Where Astral Space locations are necessarily ties to Physical world locations, this is not the case for the Matrix.  There is no correlation between grids and hosts and physical locations.  AR is like astral perception in that you see the matrix world and the physical world at the same time.  VR is like astral projection only in that you cease perceiving the physical world.

So in the example you give: