NEWS

I'm Interested!

• 457 Replies

WNxTyr4el

• Omae
« on: <11-06-13/1959:42> »
Hey everyone!  I'm new to roleplaying games and tabletop games and have been looking at Pathfinder and D&D 4e. I asked around on the PF forums about other tabletop games that are relatively popular and Shadowrun came up. So I was wondering if someone could tell me about the game.  I'll ask some questions to guide discussion

1. Does this game compare to any other dice rpg?
2. What is the class system like?  Are options varied and many?
3.  What's the spell system like?  Are there many spells to choose from and ways to build your PC?
4. What's the story like?
5. Are there play mats or anything that you play on?  And can you buy them if so?
6. Is there a beginner box or anything equivalent?  If not where should I start?

That should get things rolling!
Speech
Thoughts
Texts and Commlink
Whisper
Spirits
Descriptors and Narrative

witchdoctor

• Chummer
« Reply #1 on: <11-06-13/2016:57> »
1) NO!!!
2) There is no class system, you pick a character concept such as hacker or ninja and buy skills and attributes that complement that concept. Theoretically you could build any combination you like, you could, for example, build a hacker who kills people with swords.
3) First thing you learn in Shadowrun is "Geek the Mage first!". There are a ton of spells you can choose. You can throw fireballs like your standard DnD mage or you can use magic to turn your enemies against each other and clean up the mess afterwards
4) Complicated. The meta plot is windy enough for a Minotaur to get lost in. Long story short, everyone wants everyone else dead, try to make sure it's not you. If you want the details start with the core rulebook for the basics and look up anything you want to know more about.
5) That is entirely up to the GM, with my GM we don't really need them and we can just get out a scrap piece of paper if positioning or our environment becomes vitally important for planning.