NEWS

Gun Chun Do

• 17 Replies

Usda Beph

• Omae
  • aka Black Angus
« on: <03-05-11/0749:35> »
So I watched Equilibrium (Near Futuristic movie with Christian Bale)... anyway, the movie has alot of gun play and a firearm martial art that actually looked cool in action. Even if the premise is a bit unbeivable.

Anyway it gave me a good look at what the gun soo do in ShadowRun would look like!

Discuss. ;D
Yeah, I'm A Minotaur! You Gotta Beef with that?
I'm a Minotaur not a bully!
I studied at the Rocky Mountain Culinary School.I specialized in Seafood.
My Dad worked out of el Toro In New Mexico.

aimlessfreak

• Chummer
« Reply #1 on: <03-05-11/0801:46> »
The Firefight martial art in the runners companion
But I didn't know he was a DRAGON!

Sid

• Chummer
« Reply #2 on: <03-05-11/0901:53> »
Doesn't Krav Maga do a better job of that?
Yes, Firefight does more to reduce the penalty, but KM has a fistful of free actions. Weighing each against the other, what's the better option?

tbrminsanity

• Newb
  • Have fun, play games!
« Reply #3 on: <03-05-11/0922:17> »
I always pictured the Gun Kata in Equilibrium to be more Gun Adept in nature.  I created some house rules a while back for SR3 for Gun Fu (also after watching Equilibrium), I think I will go through Arsenal and see if I can update the rules for SR4.

Edit:
Gun Kata
Gun Kata is based upon the premise that, given the positions of the participants in a gun battle, the trajectories of fire are statistically predictable. By pure memorization of the positions, one can fire at the most likely location of an enemy without aiming at him in the traditional sense of pointing a gun at a specific target. By the same token, the trajectories of incoming fire are also statistically predictable, so by assuming the appropriate stance, one can keep one's body clear of the most likely way of enemy bullets.
Advantages:
  • +1 DV when using a ranged weapon in melee combat