NEWS

Decker Tips(5e)

• 4 Replies

Chalkarts

• Omae
  • I'm a Street Painter in South Georgia.
« on: <03-27-20/1759:13> »
I'm playing my first game in a long time tomorrow night.
I want to give the team a good showing.
I'm playing a Decker, but I've never played one before.

I was wondering if any skilled Deckers could give me some pointers on how to handle the archetype and not embarass myself.
I paint the pavement.  It's what I do.  Check it out on Instagram, @Chalkarts

BeCareful

• Chummer
« Reply #1 on: <03-29-20/1927:49> »
So, basic pointers for Deckering:

Primarily, know what you're doing & plan ahead.

First of all, go over stuff with the GM to make sure you're on the same page. Any house rules in play? Anything shadowbanned? My thoughts on the Matrix and house rules relating to it aren't going to be relevant here.

Look for a Matrix Action cheat sheet so you won't have to flip back and forth to figure out what they are and how to do them. I'm glad I have mine.

You've got high LOG. Ask if your Knowledge skills would be relevant. If not, you can always do a Matrix Search.

Keep in touch with your allies. If you have to buy them all matching biomonitors or point out they can add stuff to the visors of their motorcycle helmets, it'll help out. Micro-cameras and mics can also be shared via group chat.

Matrix Perception out of initiative is easy to do and might come in handy sometimes. Plus, if you're in a host and Patrol IC asks you what was your last Matrix Action, you'll have a perfectly legal one to show it.

Even if you have to read the texts of your allies to get the plot off the ground, you still need to trust them when you're off in VR.

Find ways to get ready before initiative is even rolled: Tell the GM you're looking for concentrations of weapons, or corpsec armour, or something. Listen in on their communications and peek into any body cameras so they won't catch you by surprise.