NEWS

[SR5] General Combat Balance

• 10 Replies

lawndart

• Newb
« on: <01-16-14/1824:43> »
Hello All,
  I'm starting up a new SR5 (Street Level) game soon and I have just started wrapping my head around the combat balance. I have an embarrassingly large amount of experience with SR2 and SR3 which is absolutely useless in this case it seems. For example, one of my folks is making an Ork Melee Adept, and I think he's being pretty middle of the road about it. He has about 12 dice for defense (6 REA + 5 INT + 1 Combat Sense) and 23 for Soak (7 Body + 12 Armor + 2 Helmet + 2 Bear Mentor). I'm looking at what kind of attacks will actually injure him, and not coming up with much. Looking at the Archetypes (I know they are more guidelines than legit builds) he's not out of control in any way I can find, so what kind of combined force do you folks use? Pretty much pure magic against folks like him? All the FA?

Lawndart

RHat

• Prime Runner
« Reply #1 on: <01-16-14/1910:21> »
Small point:  If you're looking for the idea of a Street Level game, the Street Scum rules on page 354 are probably more in line with what you want - the Street Level stuff printed in the character creation chapter doesn't really do the job, as it fails to really impact Awakened in any real way.

Still, hurting that guy isn't actually that difficult.  It might take some stronger weapons to get to doing Physical damage (though, APDS is reasonably available, so maybe not), but Stun will still do a very nice job of shutting you down.  He might be able to soak about 8 damage semi-reliably (and indeed, it's clear he's partly built towards that so that he can actually close to melee range), but what that actually means is that his final damage from, say, a heavy pistol will be equal to the opponent's net hits in a typical case.

As for the archetypes:  They're not really even a guideline; mostly, they're a lower bound.
"Speech"
Thoughts
Matrix <<Text>> "Speech"
Spirits and Sprites

Michael Chandra