NEWS

Gaming etiquette?

• 6 Replies

Chalkarts

• Omae
  • I'm a Street Painter in South Georgia.
« on: <09-11-18/1158:28> »
I am involved in a convo on Twitter.
https://twitter.com/evaoddveig/status/1038835739444703232?s=21
Is asking about a Characters level rude?
It never occurred to me that it was an offensive
Gatekeepy thing.
How many people over the years have I unwittingly been a rude elitist to?
My god....am I a monster? 😔
I paint the pavement.  It's what I do.  Check it out on Instagram, @Chalkarts

Michael Chandra

• Catalyst Demo Team
  • Prime Runner
  • Question-slicing ninja
« Reply #1 on: <09-12-18/0227:48> »
It's about the tone. If a woman says she plays DnD and the first response is 'oh yeah, what's your level?' that's an inane question. Her level doesn't matter, especially since you can start at whatever level the campaign starts at anyway.

Now if she were to say she played Shadowrun Missions and you'd ask 'oh nice, how much karma are you at?', that makes more sense.
How am I not part of the forum?? O_O I am both active and angry!

Streetsam_Crunch

• Newb
  • Grumpy Old Ork
« Reply #2 on: <09-12-18/0531:15> »
This is one of those weird categories to me, because... to me... that depends on a lot of factors. At the end, asking "What Level" is almost moot, and can be considered offensive, because it doesn't really mean anything depending on the group running it.

If it is a genuine question of interest, then it's a launching point for some great stories as to how they got there. If not, it can imply that 'gatekeeper' mentality, because if you haven't gotten to X point, you really don't understand the game... (at the same time, they should probably ask what you mean as well, for just that reason- getting instantly offended leads to less bridges than it builds, for sure...)