NEWS

Explorer

• 6 Replies

Chalkarts

• Omae
  • I'm a Street Painter in South Georgia.
« on: <02-17-20/1108:58> »
1st, I know I ask a lot of random questions at a pretty rapid pace, I apologize, lol.

2nd,
I was reading through some new(5e) books i have access to now.
I came across the Magic archetype, Explorer.

I am intrigued.
I've always liked astral perception and from time to time try to find a way to shoehorn it onto something.
The idea of an astral badass sounds cool, but the main drawback I can see is that its a total Van character.
Trying to go on a run with a guy that has to be unconscious to truly be effective seems like a no go.

Is there a way to make an effective Explorer runner?
I paint the pavement.  It's what I do.  Check it out on Instagram, @Chalkarts

Michael Chandra

• Catalyst Demo Team
  • Prime Runner
  • Question-slicing ninja
« Reply #1 on: <02-17-20/1412:45> »
I would say Possession spirit tradition and let a spirit handle your body. But if a Rigger and a Hacker can go k.o., why not a mage?
How am I not part of the forum?? O_O I am both active and angry!

Beta

• Ace Runner
  • SR1 player, SR5 GM@FtF & player@PbP
« Reply #2 on: <02-18-20/1303:37> »
A few quick thoughts:
- Don't make the astral stuff all that you can do!  The advantage of being an explorer is that it is only priority C, so you can still have some other competence*  So you don't need to be astral all of the time.
- You don't have to be astrally projecting to use astral combat, as I understand it.  You should be able to use it while astral perceiving (you have the option then of unarmed combat or astral combat).  So while astral scouting and going astral to chase down spirits are for sure part of your shtick, you can make use of your good asensing and astral combat while still in your body too.