NEWS

Are Initiative Passes Necessary?

• 256 Replies

Ryo

• Ace Runner
« on: <07-29-11/1557:54> »
I've been GMing shadowrun for a few months now, and I'm really starting to wonder about the function of multiple IPs in the system. Obviously my players jumped on them right away, I don't think anyone in any of the games I've run have had less than 2, and thus, the NPCs they come across always have multiple to compensate, but from all the combats I've run, I've probably hit the second Combat Turn maybe four times, tops. I've never reached a third Combat Turn.

So what this basically means is, apparently every gunfight, ever, ends in less than 6 seconds. It just seems silly to me when I think about it, and it makes some of the more cinematic moments I've wanted to try, like having the team pinned down by gunfire in a time sensitive situation, such as the building they're in about to explode, all but impossible.

So what I'm wondering is, if I completely stripped out multiple passes, and all ware and spells that grant them, what do I actually lose? If everyone only had one pass, what changes, other than the in-game time combat takes?

And has anybody else ever tried that?

Trenchknife

• Chummer
« Reply #1 on: <07-29-11/1614:23> »
I've stuck with the IP system. 

Sidebar:
How often do you have your baddies hugging cover, popping IR smoke, using rain/fog, suppressive fire, and other means by which they can make it more difficult for the team of Shadow Runners to hit what they aim at?

If properly implemented, I've found that you can fairly well replicate the running gun battles in shows/movies.  Mind you...I'm usually a member of the team getting frustrated by my GMs penchant for these shenanigans.
It's not the man with the gun that gets you.  It's the three bullets he fired that tore through you vital organs that's killed you.

Ryo

• Ace Runner
« Reply #2 on: <07-29-11/1622:01> »