NEWS

Input on creating first character

• 4 Replies

masei

• Newb
« on: <07-03-16/1833:03> »
Hello, this is my first time playing Shadowrun and was looking for some input into creating my character. My party already consists of a face, a decker, a melee character and a generic shooter character. With my character I was looking to making him be of an infiltrator type role such as breaking and entering silently and things of that nature. Would this be a useful direction to go in? If it isn't any trouble could someone take a look at my character sheet to see if I haven't missed anything that would be important and if I have the required skills to succeed in this role?
Thanks a lot for the help :)
HTML: https://drive.google.com/open?id=0BxVN9ORKolcNZHV5N1pNalFlbnc
Chummer5a: https://drive.google.com/open?id=0BxVN9ORKolcNa3JFZHhPYXRZdjg

dposluns

• Chummer
« Reply #1 on: <07-05-16/1627:47> »
I've never built a character on this end of the spectrum but a few general tips for you:

• There is some really basic min-maxing you can do, if you want. Get rid of skills you only have one or two points in and increase skills that are important to what your character does up to 6. Why? It costs 2 karma and a day of downtime to learn a new skill (i.e. get it at 1) after chargen, but to push an existing skill from 4 to 5 takes 10 karma and 5 weeks(!) of downtime, and to go from 5 to 6 takes 12 karma and 6 weeks. You've got 2 skill points invested in swimming which is something you may never even do, whereas you will presumably be sneaking all the time and it's fundamental to your character that he's good at it. Remember that you can still default on untrained skills (roll the attribute - 1 dice). From the ones you've selected, I'd consider cutting Escape Artist, Free-Fall, Gymnastics, Running and Swimming. (If any of those are skill groups I'd consider investing in just one group for the same reason.)