NEWS

Spirit Power levels

• 25 Replies

Chalkarts

• Omae
  • I'm a Street Painter in South Georgia.
« on: <04-21-19/1530:19> »
IF I wanted to summon an elemental that was about equivelent strength in a fight as your standard NPC Lone STar type, what force would I cast at for a decent match for your standard foe?

I know this is probably a very subjective question but I hoped some GMs might weigh in so I can figure out what my Magic needs to be for my summoner.
I paint the pavement.  It's what I do.  Check it out on Instagram, @Chalkarts

Stainless Steel Devil Rat

• Errata Coordinator
  • Prime Runner
« Reply #1 on: <04-21-19/1540:55> »
Spirits are very powerful in 5E.  Their dice pools are very generally twice their force, and their offensive abilities tend to have a DV of twice force as well. And unless the NPC has DMSO+blight capsule rounds, the spirit has hardened armor equal to twice force as well.

If you use the Professional Rating 3 Lone Star NPC on pg 383 as being representative of your typical beat cop, he has the following dice pools:

9 dice for shooting.
7 dice for dodging attacks.
16 dice, before AP, for soaking damage.

A Force 6 spirit can be summoned for negligible drain by even a non-optimized character, and will totally outclass the NPC.  You'd have to go down into a force range of 3 or 4 for the NPC to stand a chance.

Unless of course you decide that Blight toxin should be standard issue for security guards.  Honestly, some Spirit-B-GON probably should be standard equipment now that it's on the market...

« Last Edit: <04-21-19/1544:22> by Stainless Steel Devil Rat »
RPG mechanics exist to give structure and consistency to the game world, true, but at the end of the day, you’re fighting dragons with algebra and random number generators.

Ghost Rigger

• Omae
« Reply #2 on: <04-21-19/1541:57> »