Shadowrun Missions Living Campaign > Living Campaign Discussion

Questions for the SRM FAQ Committee

<< < (3/16) > >>


--- Quote from: sinthalix on ---
--- Quote from: Herr Brackhaus on ---Aaaand some more questions for you.

First of all, Biocompatibility states the following:

--- Quote from: Chrome Flesh page 54 ---In game terms, the Essence cost of implants of the particular chosen type are reduced by ten percent, rounded down to the tenth. This rebate is cumulative with the reduction offered by the chosen ’ware’s grade, if any (e.g., the reduction for alphaware of 0.8 is reduced by ten percent, or 0.08, to become 0.72, and is rounded down to 0.7).
--- End quote ---
Question: This has a significant effect on Used Grade, which normally has an Essence cost modifier of 1.25; "the reduction for used ware of 1.25 is reduced by ten perecent, or 0.125, to become 1.125, and is rounded down to 1.1". Is this correct?
This part has been answered in ver 0.4.  we are rounding two decimal places.  rr

--- End quote ---

This has been added to discussion topics

--- End quote ---

Based on the ruling placed in ver 0.4 it actually brings up another question.
First of all, I just want to take a quick moment to point out that the Biocompatibility quality says that it reduces the Essence cost of implants, but then the example talks about the interaction with Alphaware and does the rounding there, which is where one of the primary interpretations for this quality came from. I believe it went something like this:
   Grademultipliermult. w/ BiocompatibilityStandardx1x0.9Alphax0.8x0.7Betax0.7x0.6Usedx1.25x1.10Using that kind of table explained the terminology use of rounding to the nearest tenth, and allowed the rest of the math involving the actual 'ware to be done as it always was. If we are going to be using a multiplier on the 'ware and not the grade multiplier I suggest the terminology in the FAQ also mention to ignore the example in the quality description.

Now, I understand what has been done for Missions use, and I completely understand the clarification, but like I said before it does bring up one more issue. The quality is cumulative with the reduction from grade, in which case, should it be applied concurrently or simultaneously? Or in other words should we determine the discount from the quality based on the original essence cost or the cost after the ware discount has been applied? If we use the Cat's Eye example, adding in an Alphaware discount: Cat's Eye is 0.1 Essence, with Alphaware it multiplies the cost by 0.8 to an Essence cost of 0.08. If we have Biocompatibility, does it reduce the cost by 10% of 0.1 (0.01 reduction), or 10% of 0.08 (0.008 reduction). And if it is the latter, is the reduction amount rounded down? or the final cost? Basically, should the final cost of Alpha Cat's Eye with Biocompatibility be 0.07, or 0.08?

This issue is a bit bigger than the rounding issue that I mentioned with initiation discounts, particularly if we go into larger 'ware, like Wired Reflexes. Take an example with Wired Reflexes 2 (Base Essence Cost: 3)

* Alpha grade: x0.8, reduces cost to 2.4
* If Biocompatibility is applied simultaneosly, reduction is 0.3 (10% of 3) down to 2.1
* If applied concurrently, reduction is 0.24 (10% of 2.4) down to 2.16Also, while we're on the topic, I would guess that the Adapsin Geneware would work in the same way as whatever direction this goes in?

This would be applied consecutively, e.g you purchase Alpha Wired Reflexes 2.  This has an essence cost to the average Joe of 2.4 Essence.  You then plug it into Biocompatibility guy.  He then takes 10% off of that 2.4 making it 2.16 for Biocompatibility guy.  Adapsin acts the same.  As for rounding, Essence is rounded to the second decimal place (hundredths.)  SRMFAQC

If a Valkyrie Module is allowed for size Large or larger drones, why not a rigger cocoon? They are pretty much the same size.


The SRM FAQ Committee decided to not allow it.  SRMFAQC

Herr Brackhaus:
Question: Can a magician choose who is affected by his AoE spells?
Reference this thread for full details, but here's the gist of it:
Spells like Hot Potato and Foreboding (Street Grimoire page 112) specifically calls out that they affect all targets in the AoE. Some assume this means that a magician casting an AoE spell can decide who is affected, with some limitations (i.e. a fireball is a fireball, but direct combat spells and most other schools). Spell Shaping seems to do this already perform this function, though, so opinions are split in terms of whether the Street Grimoire entries are just superfluous or if they set the specific rules that override general ones. Clarification on how this is to be handled in Missions would be appreciated.

SR5, pg. 281:  All targets in the area of effect that you can see, friend and foe alike, are valid targets for the spell. The only way to not hit someone in your A0E is to not be able to see them or using Spell Shaping.  rr

Thanks! A lot of us totally missed that...

I just noticed that when you where discussing the micro-transceiver/comlink issue earlier you mentioned Jamming effecting said communications. AFAIK there's never been anything official for SR5 or Missions stating at what level of Noise a Matrix Device flat out stops getting Matrix Bonuses, much less anything that prevents communications. Could it be possible to look into some Missions official Jamming rules?

If the Device Rating does not exceed the Noise Rating, it will lose it wireless functionality while suffering from the Noise Rating. (Wireless Bonuses, pg. 421, SR5) rr

According to the most recent FAQ (v0.4, p. 42): Availability test must be made against the desired Force of focus to be improved. will cost the difference in nuyen between the old and new focus, plus 20% for the talismonger’s time and  materials.

So, let's say my shaman has a Force 4 power focus, and wishes his talismonger to improve it to Force 5 (Availability 20).  The difference in nuyen is 18,000, plus 20% makes it 21,600.  My shaman's Street Cred is enough to bring that availability down to 18, but the talismonger only has 12 dice with which to buy hits (3) on her Negotiation Test.  In the CRB (p. 418), it says:

...for every additional twenty-five percent of the item's value you are willing to pay, you get an additional die on the Negotiation test.

So how do these two rules intersect?  Can I buy additional dice for my talismonger at 5,400 (25% of the 21,600) each, or do I have to pay 25% of a full cost Force 5 power focus (90,000) at 22,500 per die?

25% of the full cost per die, not the difference.  rr


[0] Message Index

[#] Next page

[*] Previous page

Go to full version