NEWS

Negativ Magic?

• 28 Replies

Finstersang

• Omae
« Reply #15 on: <01-08-21/1217:59> »
Seeing as how there are no rules for raising a stat with a negative value (how much karma does it take to raise -4 mag to -3 mag? -3 x 5 = -15), and negative attributes other than Essence have never been a thing in Shadowrun, I think it's safe to conclude a floor of 0 is the intent.

Yup, and thatīs what creates the big balanging problem in the first place. RAW, you can start as complete noob mage/adept with Magic 1, get ware for 5.0 Points of Essence and then you still just need spare 5 Karma to get back to your pre-"burnout" situation. 

The bolded part isn't RAW.  There IS no RAW on whether you bottom out at 0, or can hit negative values for Magic.  And if so, what the karma costs are to increase said negative value.

True. The problem is that this is assumed to be RAW by many. So this time, CGL wouldnīt even even need to choose the worst possible solution over the one employed by most players, because they are the same  ::)

Either way: IMO, it would be better if a total burnout is either permanent or much more costly to overcome (see my first answer on this thread for reference).
« Last Edit: <01-08-21/1223:15> by Finstersang »

Sir Ludwig

• Catalyst Demo Team
  • Chummer
« Reply #16 on: <01-08-21/1235:50> »
I learned something in this thread, I hadn't picked up in 6th RAW that a mage couldn't burn out. Again another hold over from my assumptions from previous editions. 

As for the rest of the topics.  I agree with  Finstersang below, but again could be a carry over from previous additions.  However, I think this way seems more fair and would stop any attempts (because you know someone is going to try) to break the augmentation/magic thing. 

In my mind buying back the point of Karma should be

It doesnīt have to be that way.