NEWS

Nerve Strike

• 12 Replies

Nomad Zophiel

• Omae
  • Zophiel by name. Nomad by profession.
« on: <10-31-10/1911:24> »
Working on a Physical Adept and I wanted to get some opinions on Nerve Strike. It seems like an insanely useful power since it can paralyze someone for at least 20 rounds with 4 net hits total over multiple attacks (give or take).

Question 1: Can it be combined with Distance Strike? Neither power is especially explicit on this. Sitatnce strike "transmits" an attack and may be combined with killing hands but not elemental strike. Nerve strike says that after activating the power, the adept makes a "normal" melee attack. Personally, it seems like that interaction can be read either way.

Question 2: If a nerve strike targeting reaction gets three net successes against someone with 1 Reaction (presumably due to previous hits), is he reduced to 0 and paralyzed for 1 minute or reduces to -2 and paralyzed for 3 minutes?

I'm fairly sure both of these wind up being GM's call type of things but I'm curios to see everyone's opinion.

Walks Through Walls

• Ace Runner
« Reply #1 on: <10-31-10/2201:42> »
I wouldn't allow a distance strike nerve strike combination in my game. It becomes too powerful and the idea of nerve strike is that you are hitting the nerve and causing paralysis so I can't see that working from a distance.

On the second point I can't see reducing an attribute below zero, but in reality it won't much matter if the opponent is out for 1 minute or 3 since either one is an eternity in combat turns. If you want him dead at that point he is. If you leave him and move on your long gone by the time he recovers
"Walking through walls isn't tough..... if you know where the doors are."
"It's not being seen that is the trick."

Walks Through Walls

Nomad Zophiel

• Omae
« Reply #2 on: <11-01-10/0322:09> »