NEWS

Physical Mask or Biometric Readers?

• 3 Replies

skystarlit

• Newb
« on: <10-26-10/0427:42> »
Ok, big fight in our group over this one.  ???

Does Physical Mask work against Biometrics (fingerprint, voice, retina etc...)?
One of our group swears up and down they should, and another says no way.
The big question is on the way the rules are spelled out.

Are biometrics classified as a sensor or a lock? I have found nothing that says it is in the sensor category. In fact, it is listed separately in several places of the books.
Does it even matter since the 'sensor' part of the rules under Physical Mask is not capitalized, so it could be a generalization rather than referring to that specific category?
Would it not create a big imbalance (considering the amount of effort needed to fool Biometrics with gear or cyber/bioware) if it did work on Biometrics as well as sensors?

Nomad Zophiel

• Omae
  • Zophiel by name. Nomad by profession.
« Reply #1 on: <10-26-10/0438:20> »
Physical Mask creates an illusion
that affects technological sensors as well.

Just off the cuff, if it could work, the caster would need to know the biometrics he's trying to imitate, the same way you can't passably imitate the face of someone you've never seen. Not so hard for voice. A lot harder for retina, fingerprints, DNA etc.  Assuming you had the information you needed, the spellcasting success would be the threshold the sensor needs to beat to see through it.

Then again, since the wording of the spell is that it makes someone look different, rather than that it specifically allows imitation of someone in particular, I might also have the caster make a disguise check. Seeing through the spell reveals the person for who they really are. Seeing through the disguise reveals them as not being the person they're imitating. Electronic sensors would use the lower roll as the threshold, since either will cause the Masked person to fail the biometric check.

FastJack

• Administrator