NEWS

How many throwing stars do you get

• 7 Replies

Rated Lexxx

• Newb
« on: <08-14-20/2223:02> »
I am new to shadowrun and have Been trying to learn how to play with my friends which has been a bit daunting

I have been able to locate all my questions from the book except for this one which should have been obvious

When you buy throwing stars how many do you get one buy them

They are called throwing stars (plural) in the book and they seem expensive at 160 for 1 throwing star

Thanks in advance

Michael Chandra

• Catalyst Demo Team
  • Prime Runner
  • Question-slicing ninja
« Reply #1 on: <08-15-20/0150:29> »
It may seem expensive, but I can't find any indication you get multiple at that price. On the other hand, these would actually be reusable if you retrieve them. Compared to Crossbows, where each throwing star equals 32 one-shot bolts, or for example Explosive Rifle Rounds at a 1:40 ratio, in the long run throwing weapons end up cheaper unless you repeatedly use them in fights you have to flee from.
How am I not part of the forum?? O_O I am both active and angry!

Sphinx

• Errata Team
  • Omae
« Reply #2 on: <08-15-20/1820:02> »
If you compare the price of a knife on page 249 (20 nuyen) to the price of "throwing knives" on page 250 (155 nuyen), it seems obvious that you should get more than one. The usual rule for ammo is that you get ten for the list price (see page 262). So I'd give you ten throwing stars for your 160 nuyen (or ten throwing knives for 155).

Michael Chandra

• Catalyst Demo Team
  • Prime Runner
  • Question-slicing ninja
« Reply #3 on: <08-15-20/2047:23> »
Knives are by far inferior Attack Rating wise, and can only be thrown 20m, vs 250m for Throwing Knives. So I definitely would not give you ten.
How am I not part of the forum?? O_O I am both active and angry!

Beta

• Ace Runner
  • SR1 player, SR5 GM@FtF & player@PbP
« Reply #4 on: <08-15-20/2214:23> »