NEWS

Gen Con Feedback from an Experienced Player

• 9 Replies

Brian2112

• Newb
« on: <08-05-15/1605:21> »
I've been playing Shadowrun for over 20 years and started when second edition was relatively new.  This is my third year in a row of playing SR missions and my 12th year at Gen Con.  I'm not new to gaming or Gen Con and know that missions can be a mixed bag of good and bad experiences.  However, when the bad experiences outweigh the good, I feel the need to offer some constructive criticism and feedback.

1. Thank you.  The GMs and crew running the events were polite, professional and excellent ambassadors for the game.  I was disappointed in the start time for the games.  Giving players a few extra minutes to get to the table is fine.  The problem is that every game I was in started 20-30 minutes AFTER the listed start time.  After waiting for players and no shows, we then had to wait for the line of people who signed up (assuming with generics) to be spread around to fill spots.  This part felt unorganized and left the punctual players sitting there with nothing to do.

2.  It’s hard to write a generic mission when you have no idea what people are going to show up with.  The Olympic series of missions was very underwhelming.  I didn't feel challenged and in one game there was no combat.  You don't need to resort to combat to resolve every encounter, but I'd like to roll some dice at least once in the game.  The GMs need to step it up a bit and up the challenge level.  When a group can wipe out the opposition before there is even any danger or harm, where is the fun/challenge?  When the only damage the group takes is stun from a bad drain role, are we really earning that karma?  You don’t want a TPK, but four milk runs is not enjoyable.