NEWS

Harder Healing

• 7 Replies

Angel_Heart

• Newb
  • I'm but a research vessel
« on: <09-04-18/2107:14> »
Anyone have a good system for slower healing? I never liked how PCs can naturally heal from gunshots in just a few days. I made combat and its after-effects grittier and forced players to make much more tactical choices when I upped 4th and 5th Ed.'s daily healing tests to weekly tests (physical damage only). As I said, my players started acting more tactically instead of running around the campaign world like they're in GTA when I employed this house rule variant of mine.
However there's always room for improvements. Anyone got any good ideas?
I'm a noob, have mercy.

Michael Chandra

• Catalyst Demo Team
  • Prime Runner
  • Question-slicing ninja
« Reply #1 on: <09-05-18/0028:47> »
This probably belongs in the Rules forum, not the SRM one.

There already are penalties for healing including environment. You can expand on those. Combined with healing being an extended test where your dice amount keeps decreasing, that puts on a lot of stress. You're in Low security? Well obviously the racket in the neighborhood prevents you from resting well. How clean is your apartment and do you need to go out to get food into a dusty store?
How am I not part of the forum?? O_O I am both active and angry!

Jack_Spade

• Prime Runner
« Reply #2 on: <09-05-18/1633:30> »
Impeding healing almost never benefits a game in my experience. It just makes players waste gaming time with healing up until they feel strong enough to go out again. The system is filled with sufficiently deadly options to make a brush with death a far better education tool to get your runners to be more careful.