NEWS

[noob question] Could you make an armor focus?

• 17 Replies

Hjarne

• Newb
« on: <12-09-14/1051:20> »
Hi guys.
I'm new at shadowrun, both the game in general and this forum in particular, so please bear with me.
I'm drawing up my very first shadowrun char, a bear shaman. Regarding gear, I was wondering if you could get/make an armor focus, sort of like a weapon focus but for armor/defense. I'm quite familiar with the setting, but haven't actually played sr before, so it might be a stupid question.

8-bit

« Reply #1 on: <12-09-14/1053:48> »
Not currently, no. Although, you could always houserule it.

I wouldn't recommend it though, it's so easy to get huge dice pools for soaking damage, that any more would just be overkill.

Herr Brackhaus

• Prime Runner
« Reply #2 on: <12-09-14/1103:23> »
What you could do is make a piece of armor a Sustaining Focus, and then cast Armor (or Deflection, unless you want to be noticed since Armor has a visible "glow" effect as per the spell description) through it.

It's not technically what you're thinking of, but it's close enough as far as I'm concerned. Note that the Force of a spell sustained through a Sustaining focus cannot exceed the Force of the Focus (unless you use Edge or Reagents). This means that at character generation, you are limited to a Force 4 Spell Focus (Sustaining, Manipulation) (because the Focus is Availability (Force * 3)).

For more information, see page 292 (Armor Manipulation spell), pages 318-320 (Foci), and page 461 (Magical Equipment).

Edit: