NEWS

Carbines and SMG's

• 52 Replies

Cass100199

• Chummer
  • Truth hurts only if you're a dumba**.
« on: <05-24-11/0943:11> »
Why are carbines listed under SMG's. A carbine is just a shortened version of an assault rifle and typically has the same range, stopping power, etc. An SMG uses pistol ammo. They are not the same. So what was the justification for lumping them together?
You can't tell me what toys I can play with.

JoeNapalm

• Ace Runner
  • Ifriti Sophist
« Reply #1 on: <05-24-11/1016:52> »
I'll probably be smote into oblivion for stating this, but...I would guess, from what I've seen, that the writers weren't really experts on firearms.

Professional Knowledge - Game Design 6 ( RPGs 8 )

Professional Knowledge - Firearms Design 2

I'm not saying that to be a jerk, or to claim that I am an expert...(but I am a professional)...I can say that their nomenclature and many design details relating to the in-game weapons are definitely game-centric, rather than realistically oriented.

Which I am FINE with, by the way - there's also Elves and Trolls and Dragons.

My guess is that they did a bit of research and read that carbines are often chambered for a smaller round than their full-sized counterparts, and extrapolated that into the result you see.  Or...just figured they were smaller and therefore shoot smaller bullets.

Or they decided that a SMG-sized weapon firing Rifle damage rounds would make all SMGs obsolete.

Dunno. If I wanted realistic weapon damage, I guess I'd dust off CP2020, again and house-rule in Dragons.

Anyway - my solution was to use the AR rules for weapon modification to build an SBR. Yeah, I use a lot of my modification slots to make the weapon smaller, but I get the power of a rifle in the SMG-sized package.

-Jn-
Ifriti Sophist

Cass100199

• Chummer
« Reply #2 on: <05-24-11/1105:29> »
I think what I'll do is just give carbine AR damage and use the stats in the books for the subs (ex.: the Colt sub in 9mm or .45 ACP).

KarmaInferno