NEWS

Glitches, odds and inexistence of critical glitches

• 69 Replies

luizborges

• Newb
« on: <02-03-18/2005:07> »
I'm new to SR5 although I knew and played it on second edition.
I noticed quite quickly the the glitches mechanic has strange odds. It oscillates according to the pool size (meaning it jumps up and down) and decays into nothing really quickly (any medium sized dicepool has almost 0 chance of getting a glitch).
Critical glitches are even worse. They almost never happen on really low pools (4-6 dice) and are non-existent 10 dice and above.
According to the glitches descriptions on the core book, and the edge mechanic of negating glitches, I feel they should happen more often. I'm not talking about critical glitches, just the regular ones.although the critical ones could happen once in a while too.

How do you usually handle that? Is there a common house rule to address that?

I started to work on an alternative glitch system with minimal impact to the way tests are done and that demands even lower effort than counting half the pool size. I just need to lock on a nice value for the odds of it happening and would like to know what you think about it.

How do you view glitches and how often should they happen (regular and critical). Also, what do you think about the exploit result from Anarchy glitch die.

ShadowcatX

• Omae
« Reply #1 on: <02-03-18/2043:30> »
Glitches aren't meant to come up often. When was the last time you played a roleplaying game and was like "man, I just haven't rolled badly enough tonight." Besides, Shadowrun is already a very lethal game, PCs don't need yet more to contend with.

PiXeL01

• Errata Team
  • Ace Runner
  • Sheltering Orks in Osaka
« Reply #2 on: <02-03-18/2101:42> »