NEWS

TPK: Your Experiences

• 11 Replies

Eisenbeiß

• Newb
« on: <10-15-10/0645:16> »
Hello,

I'm interested in your experiences with TPKs (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Total_Party_Kill). How did they happen? Do you blame yourself, your team or your GM? And what did you learn from them?

Usda Beph

• Omae
  • aka Black Angus
« Reply #1 on: <10-15-10/0735:36> »
In all my years of gaming, I have never witnessed a TPK. There were always some survivors. 45% loss is the highest I've seen. Falls into the Crap-Occurs collumn.
Yeah, I'm A Minotaur! You Gotta Beef with that?
I'm a Minotaur not a bully!
I studied at the Rocky Mountain Culinary School.I specialized in Seafood.
My Dad worked out of el Toro In New Mexico.

FastJack

• Administrator
  • Prime Runner
  • Kids these days...
« Reply #2 on: <10-15-10/0905:56> »
3E Ogres. The Challenge ratings on these #$#@s are WAY off base. I lost two adventuring parties because the books said Ogres were a good match for us and they wound up wiping the floors with us.

Aces

« Reply #3 on: <10-15-10/0925:41> »
I have never had a TPK in Shadowrun either, which I would likely have to attribute to the players. I tend to run a very "raw" campaign, where I don't limit the actions of the party. If they want to try something that is ill advised, however, I do give them subtle hints about the danger of that course of action. While doing legwork before hitting a Target that is out of their league, a contact or two will likely recommend against it, or the decker may come across some interesting tidbit on the target's (over)reaction to similar actions in the past.