NEWS

[6E] What Is the Order for Spending Edge

  • 3 Replies
  • 1836 Views

Talorn

  • *
  • Newb
  • *
  • Posts: 1
« on: <12-17-22/1746:51> »
Hello!

I have a question about the order in which people spend Edge during an action. For example, if I attack someone and they defend, when would we both spend Edge? If I make the opponent reroll 3 successes, for example and they have Edge, could they then make me reroll 3 successes of my own? Is there some kind of order?

Thanks so much!

Xenon

  • *
  • Prime Runner
  • *****
  • Posts: 6440
« Reply #1 on: <12-18-22/1309:52> »
Use of Edge Actions, negate Edge from your opponent, reroll failed dice and explode 6s and 2s count as glitch for target is typically decided before you roll while reroll dice or failed dice is typically decided after the roll. You can only spend edge once during an action.

If I make the opponent reroll 3 successes, for example and they have Edge, could they then make me reroll 3 successes of my own?
Reroll is done after the test.
1. So in this case you both roll (both to attack and defend)
2. and then you you both decide to reroll 3 dice (before any dice are actually rolled)
3. and then you both actually reroll 3 dice each

MercilessMing

  • *
  • Omae
  • ***
  • Posts: 551
« Reply #2 on: <03-14-23/1138:59> »
I think the question is about who spends edge first, attacker or defender, pre roll and post roll.  The CRB doesn't say.

Quote
2. and then you you both decide to reroll 3 dice (before any dice are actually rolled)

I don't play that way - declaring your intention to use post-roll edge before any dice are rolled is too punishing; but even so, the question being asked is "who decides first", and "can they amend it"

Here's how I play.  Post roll is easiest - Each side just asks themselves if they're happy with the outcome.  If someone isn't, they spend edge and make the change.  They're locked into that result and can't amend it further.  Then the other side gets to choose whether to also spend edge. 

Pre-roll, much the same way, but you have to pick a side to ask about edge spend first.  Just go with the attacker.  Attacker decides if they're going to spend edge, then the defender.  But if the attacker says No and the defender says Yes, then the attacker can amend and the defender is locked in. 

Xenon

  • *
  • Prime Runner
  • *****
  • Posts: 6440
« Reply #3 on: <03-14-23/1944:18> »
Quote
2. and then you you both decide to reroll 3 dice (before any dice are actually rolled)
declaring your intention to use post-roll edge before any dice are rolled is too punishing;
No no.... not suggesting you should declare your post edge actions pre test-roll, you (or course) declare post edge action after the test have been taken (step one above).

What I meant was that if you both want to reroll 3 dice as your edge boost then you both declare that after the test but before any of you actually reroll.

- NPC: I want to refoll 3 dice
- Player: I also want to reroll 3 dice
- GM: Do it
« Last Edit: <03-14-23/1946:46> by Xenon »