NEWS

machinist 5e

  • 2 Replies
  • 2121 Views

tytalan

  • *
  • Newb
  • *
  • Posts: 97
« on: <02-24-23/1617:28> »
So this is a 5e question can technomancer riggers jumping into a drone/vehicle without an echo.  the CRB seems to say no but DT MMRI implies that you don't need an echo to jump into a drone or vehicle.  also, without this ability a Machinist is unplayable as to build unless it's a prime runner build.

Xenon

  • *
  • Prime Runner
  • *****
  • Posts: 6469
« Reply #1 on: <02-25-23/1309:16> »
Machinists get less fade when using complex forms on devices and a positive dice pool modifier when compiling or decompiling machine sprites and generalist sprites. They may also emulate drone operator rigger's benefits by accessing the matrix via a RCC. Commanding multiple drones to take the same action, share autosofts with your drones (if you have the Resonance [Program] echo), reduce noise within your PAN, jump between your drones without first jumping out (if you have the MMIR echo). They also get access to a special complex form (LOTO).

can technomancer riggers jumping into a drone/vehicle without an echo.
To take the jump you either need an echo (in case of living persona) or having an actual control rig implant (in case you are accessing the matrix via a device instead of via your living persona). But note that you can remote control a drone (using your own attributes or ratings and acting on your initiative score) without actually jumping into it. And you can also instruct drones (in which case they are using their own pilot and autosofts they might have access to, acting on their own initiative score) without having an echo (or control rig implant).

This is a good place for SR5 rules related questions: https://forums.shadowruntabletop.com/index.php?board=29.0

Banshee

  • *
  • Catalyst Demo Team
  • Ace Runner
  • ***
  • Posts: 1095
« Reply #2 on: <02-27-23/0939:36> »
So this is a 5e question can technomancer riggers jumping into a drone/vehicle without an echo.  the CRB seems to say no but DT MMRI implies that you don't need an echo to jump into a drone or vehicle.  also, without this ability a Machinist is unplayable as to build unless it's a prime runner build.

No.
Robert "Banshee" Volbrecht
Freelancer & FAQ Committee member
Former RPG Lead Agent
Catalyst Demo Team