NEWS

Why no stats for Dysentary in war?

• 8 Replies

thalandar

• Chummer
« on: <12-21-10/0259:21> »
When reading through War!  I was struck by the number of time it talked about not drinking the water.  The reason you don't drink the water in third world countries is because you can get dysentary.  I looked through the books and find no mention of stat lines like those in Augmentation.  Rather than harp on its non-exisitance, I offer this humble note for what my player's will be facing in my War! game:

I am not a doctor.  I did some basic research online, and came up with the generic stat line below.

Dysentery
(Note the below listing is for the more common form of dysentery, amoebic,
the one more likely to be encountered by drinking contaminated water in a
third world country)

Vector:  Ingestion
Speed:  3 days (6)
Penetration:  0
Power:  2
Nature:  Bacterial
Effect:  stun damage, malaise, nausea
Dysentery is an inflammatory disorder of the intestine that results in
severe diarrhea with fever and abdominal pain and is most commonly
transmitted through contaminated food and water.  Symptoms normally present
themselves after one to three days and are usually no longer present after a
week.

Dahrken

• Newb
« Reply #1 on: <12-21-10/1402:58> »
I can understand they didn't bother to rule it, "Bacterias and Diarrhea" would make a rather crappy game session.

Chaemera

• Omae
  • I may be a mouse, but I have a chainsaw.
« Reply #2 on: <12-21-10/1828:28> »
I can understand they didn't bother to rule it, "Bacterias and Diarrhea" would make a rather crappy game session.

I would probably handle it as a case of enforced downtime. If power is left over after the Disease Resistance Test, that's simply a day the character is out of commission. No real getting into the details, let him make adjusted rolls for whatever he could do to help while porcelain-throne-ridden and move on.

Op, nicely drawn up, by the way, seems like a fairly reasonable disease implementation.