NEWS

Hacking and whatnot is ridiculously OP?

• 181 Replies

Leevizer

• Omae
« on: <04-07-12/1559:41> »
I'm writing this on my modern commlink (nokia N8) and I'm tired, but this has bothered me for a few days now...

If I understand the SR4 Rulebook correctly, hackers can shut down Street Sam's wares, hack into their jackets (dunno why, but they can?), overheat/unload any weapon in the game, instantly steal any info from anyone and with some effort, the corps and such.

How do I stop hackers from running wild? Do I need to load my body up with IC? Say that her guns and jacket are offline or else they might get exploited? Or does the hacker need to bypass my commlink to muck up my wares?

I don't own unwired, and I find the rulebook explanations and examples confusing and make me wonder why I started playing sci-fi instead of a simple fantasy rpg. No cave nor lair was going to have a ton of security to bypass that you can't bypass unless you're a hacker or people with guns and stuff.

Blue_Lion

• Omae
« Reply #1 on: <04-07-12/1611:29> »
I'm writing this on my modern commlink (nokia N8) and I'm tired, but this has bothered me for a few days now...

If I understand the SR4 Rulebook correctly, hackers can shut down Street Sam's wares, hack into their jackets (dunno why, but they can?), overheat/unload any weapon in the game, instantly steal any info from anyone and with some effort, the corps and such.

How do I stop hackers from running wild? Do I need to load my body up with IC? Say that her guns and jacket are offline or else they might get exploited? Or does the hacker need to bypass my commlink to muck up my wares?

I don't own unwired, and I find the rulebook explanations and examples confusing and make me wonder why I started playing sci-fi instead of a simple fantasy rpg. No cave nor lair was going to have a ton of security to bypass that you can't bypass unless you're a hacker or people with guns and stuff.