NEWS

Custom Gear

• 6 Replies

Shadowjack

• Errata Team
  • Ace Runner
« on: <08-06-11/1312:17> »
I have been developing a pen and paper rpg for the past 2 years or with some friends and we have made probably over 1000 unique magical items. I see my gm in Shadowrun has taken these skills and used them to create some very interesting pieces of gear. Just a very simple example would be an armor jacket with 2 extra concealability. Another more intricate example would be a magical item with 3 charges that can be used to re-direct a gun attack at the owner of this talisman. Obviously, these kinds of items can be very powerful but they do make the game quite a bit more interesting imo. Now I know that there is always the potential to find things in game that I've never seen or heard of and it makes going to shops much more entertaining.

Currently there is no limit on how much mundane custom gear we can use  but there is a limit of 5 custom magical items such as the example above. As a balancing point, these items are sometimes priced quite high in the shops and it is a cool way to power up certain npcs beyond the norm.

Do you guys have stuff like this in your games? My group is new to SR4e but if there is interest, I would be glad to make a list of all the custom gear we encounter when the campaign is over so you guys could use it in your games if you like.
Show me your wallet and I'll show you a man with 20 fingers.

Trenchknife

• Chummer
« Reply #1 on: <08-07-11/1802:09> »
I don't have anything like magical items in my SR games. 

I'm not sure why, but I'm predisposed against the idea.  I think it's because one of my main problems with D&D in all editions is that it seems to quickly become 'Loot, the Character' instead of a role-playing game.  Shadowrun is all ready very item oriented, and this would likely make that worse.

My two nuyen.