NEWS

[SR6] What's the connection between Called Shot (edge action) and Call a shot?

  • 4 Replies
  • 347 Views

marfish

  • *
  • Newb
  • *
  • Posts: 81
« on: <07-25-22/0428:00> »
What's the relationship between Called Shot (Edge action) and Call A Shot (Minior Action)?
Is Called Shot depend on Call A Shot or what?

The naming is just confusing...

Xenon

  • *
  • Prime Runner
  • *****
  • Posts: 6402
« Reply #1 on: <07-25-22/0825:20> »
It seem as if you have the option to either take one of the Called Shot Edge Actions (by spending Edge points together with a Major Attack Action without a negative dice pool modifier and without spending a Minor Action) or via Call a Shot Minor Minor Initiative Action (in addition to / together with a Major Attack Action) that generally come with a negative dice pool modifier of 4 dice (but does not cost any Edge points).

marfish

  • *
  • Newb
  • *
  • Posts: 81
« Reply #2 on: <07-25-22/0843:59> »
It seem as if you have the option to either take one of the Called Shot Edge Actions (by spending Edge points together with a Major Attack Action without a negative dice pool modifier and without spending a Minor Action) or via Call a Shot Minor Minor Initiative Action (in addition to / together with a Major Attack Action) that generally come with a negative dice pool modifier of 4 dice (but does not cost any Edge points).

So, they are independent to each other?

Xenon

  • *
  • Prime Runner
  • *****
  • Posts: 6402
« Reply #3 on: <07-25-22/0927:20> »
Depend on what you mean with "independent" I guess :-)

Disarming someone with an attack seem to either cost you 5 Edge points (if you take it as an Edge Action) or 4 Dice to Hit (if you take it as a Minor Action).

Aiming for vulnerable/unprotected parts seem to either cost you 5 Edge points (if you take it as an Edge Action, in which case it increase damage by 3) or 4 Dice to Hit (if you take it as a Minor Action, in which case it increase damage by 2).

Firing out of full cover seem to either cost you 2 Edge points (if you take it as an Edge Action) or 2 Dice to Hit (if you take it as a Minor Action).

MercilessMing

  • *
  • Omae
  • ***
  • Posts: 518
« Reply #4 on: <07-25-22/1101:14> »
Yes, they're independent of each other.  Two ways to do similar things.